We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great evening out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jeremy's

Jeremy's
Ranked #18 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great evening out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We decided to give Jeremy's a try based on reviews here. They were able to accommodate us the same evening at 20 minutes notice, despite being heavily booked. The food was first class and service was friendly and attentive without being claustrophobic. I would eat here again, and would recommend it highly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    60
    24
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Seaside Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We've eaten out in Scarborough many times and Jeremy's will be our destination next time we visit.
Scarborough is not blessed with many really good restaurants nowadays, but Jeremy's fills a much-needed gap in the market. We were greeted (gret?) by very friendly staff, who had a definite grasp of what was on the menu and how it was cooked. The room looks like it was once a butcher's shop and is clean and contemporary. Tables are a little close, but the buzz of happy diners drowns out any intrusive chat. We started with Whitby Crab on Brioche (good white meat) and Popcorn Chicken, which was a spicy fusion of chilli and ginger salad with breadcrumbed chicken bites. It was very good. We followed with Monkfish – chunky and white, with a leek and curry rosti, which was the size of my hand. Lovely flavours though. I had Duck breast with Confit leg and caramelised fig jus which was excellent. The star of the show, however, was the 'Seaside Special' dessert which we shared. It's one of the prettiest dishes we've ever had and won't spoil the surprise by describing it. It tasted as good as it looked. Considering the kitchen seems to be staffed by Jeremy and a Sous Chef, the food came in good time and everything was perfectly cooked. We'll definitely be returning – just a shame it's over 300 miles away...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent starters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate here for Sunday lunch, never the best meal on which to judge the quality of a restaurant. Our starters were superb: foie gras and chicken liver parfait for him, a really good Roquefort stuffed fig salad with avocado cream for me. We both agreed the flavours and textures were fabulous and gave a really good indication that this would be a truly brilliant place for an evening meal. However, this was Sunday lunchtime and although the main course was good, it didn't really blow me away. Choices were beef, chicken, pork belly or fish. All meats came with Yorkshire pudding, seasonal veg and duck-fat roast potatoes. All very good, although puréed veg reduced the textural experience of the meal a little. Good wine list with some interesting groupings and a set price for two or three courses. Would love to be able to return for an evening meal which is when this restaurant would really shine.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good. Tables a bit close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

On a very busy Saturday night the service was very good as was the food. Wine is reasonable with a good selection. It was a good job we had booked as they were turning people away for the second part of the evening. Jeremy's is in a quieter part of Scarborough which is a bonus. Will go again. The tables were a bit too close together but that was the only minus point.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a delicious meal here with our 2 young children. The staff were lovely and the food was amazing. I would definately go again and highly reccomend it. The food was top quality. Thankyou Jeremy's x

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simps1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeremy's also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Jeremy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing