We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of St. Nicholas Lodge

St. Nicholas Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Nicholas Lodge
Ranked #132 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were going as a couple for our first little break away and it was a lovely friendly atmosphere. The owner was lovely and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.
Thank you Dorothy.

G & D - Leeds

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

thank youvery much for your review it is a lovely suprise hope to see you again best wishes from dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

book in advance for good value rooms spacious clean but worn, great view of sea.ear plugs amust , can be noisy.location good for most,car park handy and secure,breakfast and bar area clean,and tidy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajwalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

thank you for your review it is very nice of you and I hope to see you again best wishes from dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and just enjoy the homely atmosphere and Dorothy the owner, is such a lovely person, very well travelled lady with lots to tell, smoking rooms availible, as I don't sleep too well, a smoke in the night helps, dog friendly aswell, excellent breakfast,so give it a try, if you'er looking for an home from home, stay here, posh it's not but do remember this is an old building full of character and it has history too, very interesting!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mediumcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again best wishes from dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We revisited St Nicholas Lodge only to find the same welcome from Dorothy who treats all her guests as indivuals serving up delicious home-cooked breakfasts and allowing one to "feel at home" as soon as you walk through the door. Room 3 and 8 offer large bay windows looking down on to the South bay which is very beautiful and ever changing. Nothing is too much trouble for Dorothy and we cannot wait to pay a return visit,

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 8 because of the views - quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

thank you so much for your review It was very nice to meet you and I hope you will visit again.Very best wishes from dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived home from staying at st. Nicholas lodge and can honestly say it is one of the nicest b&bs we have stayed in. Was dubious at first as have had previous bad experiences with b&bs. We payed £60 for a sat night stay with breakfast included, the room was huge and was an old Victorian room with a modern twist, a lot of character. The bed sheets were the freshest I've ever come across, the room was immaculately clean and had an amazing view across the sea. The breakfast was fine and the landlady was really lovely, warm & welcoming, I find it hard to understand the bad reviews on this place because we had a great experience & could find no fault whatsoever, our hotel of choice is usually the Hilton so our standards are high.will definitely be returning here in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambermariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed you satay even with all the rain it will be very nice to see you again .Once again thankyou from dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Thank god for a hotel where you can still smoke! This is an old, converted town house opposite the famous Grand Hotel (so always easy to find if you don't know the town) and as such a little old fashioned, especially the rules with regard to keys for the room and front doors.
The room was perfectly adequate and the price included a good full English breakfast. Kettle in the room but provided with an absolute minimum of tea, coffee and milk so bring your own.
The only real downer and why I haven't given this a maximum rating was the car parking. The hotel itself doesn't have any so you are reliant on what is available in this busy vicinity as provided by the local council and the pay and display tickets can become costly if you are planning on leaving your car during the day. Overnight parking is free, thankfully.

Room Tip: Top floor is quietest and I imagine this can be an issue as Scarborough is a big party destination p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clashist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

thank you for writing the review and I hope you will visit us again best wishes from dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Scarborough has always been 'my favourite place' and now I have found my 'favourite place' to stay - St. Nicholas Lodge. My cousin (Vikki) and I have stayed there three times now and have NEVER had cause for a complaint. Indeed after our first visit we left a Thank You card for Dorothy which is something I have never done before.. With lovely clean rooms, comfortable beds, flat screen TV's, SEA VIEWS, kettle, tea, coffee, milk, hardryer (I have been in some Hotels and have a to pay a desposit!!). En suite shower room and large white towels what more could one ask. I am a smoker ( i hit the jack pot!!) but Vikki isn't and she said that no where could she smell smoke.

Dorothy is such a warm and friendly hostess and i can truthfully say couldn't do enough to help. On our last visit she personnaly put a leaflet under our doors re a show that she thought would interest us.

On reading these other reviews leaves me speechless, people must have stayed at another hotel completely.

Which suits me as I would like this to remain one of the best places to stay, a secret for a few SPECIAL people.

Rock on Dorothy

See you asap

Chris

Room Tip: Rooms at front have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I hope you are keeping well and will find time for another holiday with us bye for now from dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
4.3 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Lodge

Address: 15 St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Nicholas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing