We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is what it says on the tin.”

Scalby Manor Crown Carveries
Ranked #226 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Is what it says on the tin.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Didn't feel like cooking today so decided to opt for the carvery. Costs less than £10, is your standard carvery set up, nothing special and not terrible.

The drink choices are good and at a reasonable price, plenty of seating inside and outside. No real complaints and the staff are friendly.

Overall not an amazing meal or experience but happy with it and if that's what you are after then you don't go for a carvery. You get what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    138
    94
    65
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Always a friendly atmosphere, food plentiful and tasty. A lovely place for a relaxing (filling) meal. A regular for me and my family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scarborough784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What better value for money could there be?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Crown Carvery chain never fails to impress me for such a good value meal. Maybe it is the fact that meat cut from a large joint is usually more succulent than one from a small one, but whatever it is, the meat is always excellent. They now do a small cavery for the princely sum of £3.69, and the only difference between that size and the standard one is the size of the plate. The same choice and amount of meat it given, and the same selection of vegetables is available, so it is incredible value. I am so impressed with Crown Carveries that I not only use them myself, but as one who organises day trips, I always try to find one in the area we are visiting and by arranging to go at 'quiet times' and booking well in advance, I know that everyone I have taken has become a fan as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

the carvery here is absolutely a bargain at only four pound and under you cant go wrong all you can eat in lovely surroundings outside it has a lovely park for the kids to play after it is ideal for families and couples as well as buisness meals its set in lovely grounds too plenty of parking too

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nothing amazingly special or fancy but good value for money at under £4 a carvery, good for family and friends and the campsite next door!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lemmsy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalby Manor Crown Carveries also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scalby Manor Crown Carveries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing