We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room but freezing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Paid for a 2 night stay in these apartments the room was lovely with all mod cons only downside was that it was very very cold it was that cold we upped and left after one night . The passage way stank which puts you off straight away .i will not be returning !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 291 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

I staid over there with my partner just for one night, we got excellent value for money and offered an upgrade for an amazing price which we took! The views are amazing if you get the good rooms and I would definitely return to this hotel if ever staying overnight in Scarborough again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanicea1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed in an apartment with a Sea View for a week and found it a was nice, clean and cosy well equipped apartment. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely stay shame about the weather. We would use the apartments again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I booked at the above "hotel" a few months ago for a 4 night stay over new year. Im a full time wheelchair user and an above knee amputee. I rang to enquire whether their accomodation was wheelchair accessible? I was told that they only have a couple of rooms/apartments that are suited to wheelchair users. so i booked a twin apartment. Anyway,when myself and companion arrived i have to say we were BOTH SADLY DISAPPOINTED. When we were escorted to the "lift" it was antiquated but jut adequate. the WORST WAS STILL TO COME. we were shown to our "apartment" and guess what? we knew instantly that i would truly struggle. in fact if i hadnt paid in advance WE would have left even before setting luggage down.. the hallway was minute and i only just fitted the wheelchair into the bedroom/sitting room. once the door was shut my companion had to play furniture moving man. then when i tried to turn round to check out the rst of the place i had to remove the wheelchair footrest. We then saw the electricity meter was located just above the skirting board and was also very antiquated. the fuses took up a fair chunk oof the hallway space. my wheelchair "just" passed if i was mega careful. in fact i actually caught the fuses more than once. Worse still to come. I could not get into the kitchen at all:o( I was able to use the bathroom with on hell of a struggle. I was NOT ABLE TO GET MY WHEELCHAIR N THERE. I Had to sand and hold the door frame and hop/shuffle to the loo and my companion then had to fold the chair up to get it through the door. i was then able to open it JUST! the wheelchair took up the whole of the bathroom floor space. I didnt dare try to have a bath and struggled for 4 days even to have a full wash. It was a twin room and the beds were tiny singles. both myself and companion are on the large side. the mattresses felt like they were filled with jelly

Room Tip: i personally would never stay here go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnec0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location. Clean and spacious (although would like a blind / curtain to cover the window - Apa). Staff VERY helpful, friendly and welcoming!
You will need to play extra for electric. Would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked about a month in advance so had chance to check everything out before I went, following up with emails and phone calls when needed. I was travelling alone (and ove the New Year) and when the staff (David and Mr John) realised this, they went out of their way to make me as welcome as possible. The self catering apartment was lovely and I had a wonderful sea view from both the bedroom and kitchen windows. The apartment was also spotlessly clean and well kept. It's also very easy to find from the railway station. I will definitely be staying there again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money but be aware, take your own towels and expect to have to pay extra for electric. Beds are so comfy, ideal place for a 1 night stay.

The restaurant attached to the place is well worth going to, food is delicious and reasonably priced.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank St3vi3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments

Address: South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $79 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Esplanade self catering apartments are located on Scarborough's South Cliff, overlooking the beautiful south bay. The Villa Esplanade is a popular destination offering 30 self catering apartments, from apartments for 2 through to apartments that can sleep up to 8 guests. Several apartments also offer sea views.Only minutes from the town centre, The Villa provides the perfect base to explore Scarborough and the Yorkshire coast. The apartments are just 2 minutes walk from one the South Cliff cliff lift which provides easy access to The Spa complex and South Bay beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing