We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly. Smelly. Smelly!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had forgotten quite how horrible the smell of stale cigarette smoke is. Our room reeked of it! Then just to add insult to injury the on site Mexican restaurant left the kitchen door open all evening so the corridors were full of the stench of fried food! Horrible!
The apartment itself was roomy with nice sea views but the floors were incredibly uneven. I felt drunk before I had touched a drop!
Based on our experience I would have marked this place one out of five but the flat was spacious and the staff were very helpful in making sure we could check in early.
My wife had a quick look at the part of the building on the other side of reception. This looked much better with evidence of refurbishment. Also there would not have been the problem with cooking smells!

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the kitchens as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baloo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 292 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night in a double bedroom, it was mordern and was very clean and fresh, bed was very comfy, ensuite bathroom was lovely and the added extras of mini fridge and plates bowls and cutlery was very useful. To go up to the room had to go through huge wide corridors which were all beautifully maintained and clean. The building is in a beautiful location with views over the south bay, short walk to the beach and town. Will definitely stay again .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisyclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, i assumed it would be very basic as it is not an expensive hotel but when we arrived we found out we had been upgraded to an apartment (free of charge) and we were really impressed with the room, its was clean and spacious maybe a little dated but for the money we paid it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayls88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap hotel that is clean, with friendly staff and large rooms, then look no further. Don't let the outside of this hotel put you off, inside everything is as you would want, clean and comfortable. OK this is not a swanky new hotel, but you aren't paying hundreds of pounds a night either.
We had no complaints and would certainly use the hotel again for a weekend in Scarborough. Use the hotels recommendation for breakfast as well the next day. Can't remember the name of the cafe, but it was near the church and served a lovely breakfast which was all freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

2nd stay at The Villa Esplanade and for the price we payed (£20 per night) you cannot go wrong. I wouldn't want to spend a weeks holiday here but as a room to crash for a couple of nights, you can't go wrong. Saying this though, looking at some of the other photos on Trip Advisor, some of the rooms look REALLY nice.
Great location as well. The views out to sea from the South cliff are fantastic.
Simply love Scarborough. Top place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingergleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i read the reviews on here and was a bit worried regarding my room, so i rang to book, made sure i asked for superior room, got it booked for 40 per night for 2 night (10 cheaper than laterooms website which had 50!)

the lady on the phone assured me we had one of the newly refurbished rooms and i felt a lot better

We arrived early and thought we would see if we could use the carpark as we were checking in later that day, our room was already prepped so we could check in, (check in usually around 3ish, this was 11am so was a great suprise)

the apartment was lovely! Ive stayed in hotels like hilton and crown plaza and ramada, and this was easily the same standard. couldnt find anything wrong and fully equipped to be home from home. The bed was super comfy, apartment was really spacious and had all areas covered, large dining table, living and bedroom area, with a fully workable kitchen Staff were very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay so much, that at short notice we decided to stay an extra night, reception were brilliant and it was no trouble, we had a permanent parking space for the duration and we will definitely be returning in the future

Room Tip: apartment 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

booked for the weekend, had an apartment. recently done up, great wee kitchen, beautiful bathroom, beds soooo comfy. great service. we checked in late and had been left a parking validation so we didn't have to go out and buy one. our apartment was spotless, my only grumble was no corkscrew in the flat but the restaurant below kindly opened our bottles of wine for us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ailym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
5.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments

Address: South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Esplanade self catering apartments are located on Scarborough's South Cliff, overlooking the beautiful south bay. The Villa Esplanade is a popular destination offering 30 self catering apartments, from apartments for 2 through to apartments that can sleep up to 8 guests. Several apartments also offer sea views.Only minutes from the town centre, The Villa provides the perfect base to explore Scarborough and the Yorkshire coast. The apartments are just 2 minutes walk from one the South Cliff cliff lift which provides easy access to The Spa complex and South Bay beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing