We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean hotel that is excellent value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice Clean hotel that is excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap hotel that is clean, with friendly staff and large rooms, then look no further. Don't let the outside of this hotel put you off, inside everything is as you would want, clean and comfortable. OK this is not a swanky new hotel, but you aren't paying hundreds of pounds a night either.
We had no complaints and would certainly use the hotel again for a weekend in Scarborough. Use the hotels recommendation for breakfast as well the next day. Can't remember the name of the cafe, but it was near the church and served a lovely breakfast which was all freshly cooked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    68
    43
    45
    68
See reviews for
59
141
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

2nd stay at The Villa Esplanade and for the price we payed (£20 per night) you cannot go wrong. I wouldn't want to spend a weeks holiday here but as a room to crash for a couple of nights, you can't go wrong. Saying this though, looking at some of the other photos on Trip Advisor, some of the rooms look REALLY nice.
Great location as well. The views out to sea from the South cliff are fantastic.
Simply love Scarborough. Top place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingergleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i read the reviews on here and was a bit worried regarding my room, so i rang to book, made sure i asked for superior room, got it booked for 40 per night for 2 night (10 cheaper than laterooms website which had 50!)

the lady on the phone assured me we had one of the newly refurbished rooms and i felt a lot better

We arrived early and thought we would see if we could use the carpark as we were checking in later that day, our room was already prepped so we could check in, (check in usually around 3ish, this was 11am so was a great suprise)

the apartment was lovely! Ive stayed in hotels like hilton and crown plaza and ramada, and this was easily the same standard. couldnt find anything wrong and fully equipped to be home from home. The bed was super comfy, apartment was really spacious and had all areas covered, large dining table, living and bedroom area, with a fully workable kitchen Staff were very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay so much, that at short notice we decided to stay an extra night, reception were brilliant and it was no trouble, we had a permanent parking space for the duration and we will definitely be returning in the future

Room Tip: apartment 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

booked for the weekend, had an apartment. recently done up, great wee kitchen, beautiful bathroom, beds soooo comfy. great service. we checked in late and had been left a parking validation so we didn't have to go out and buy one. our apartment was spotless, my only grumble was no corkscrew in the flat but the restaurant below kindly opened our bottles of wine for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the villa in the summer this was our second stay and i have nothing bad to say about the place the flat we stayed in was excellent claen tidy and very spacious. The staff are very friendly and the plus point is that the mexican resturant at the front of the building serves very tasty food. the location is superb and overall a good place to stay and we will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a. Most regrettable experience staying at this establishment to gain access to out rooms we had to pass through a corrider whic firemed part of the kitchen the rooms were not clean and very noisy and smelled from the coking in the Mexican Restaurant. I would hoghly reccomend avoiding this establishment.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Herault, France
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I paid £50 for a room here. I'm not staying at a top London hotel. I got what I paid for.

Finding the hotel was easy. Reception was warm, friendly with a Yorkshire twist. The public areas are a little dated.

Our room had a beautiful sea view, was well furnished, clean and quiet. I didn't hear any other guests arrive and slept well in a comfortable bed.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mootman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#8 of 35 in Scarborough
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 182 in Scarborough
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments

Property: The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
Address: South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Esplanade self catering apartments are located on Scarborough's South Cliff, overlooking the beautiful south bay. The Villa Esplanade is a popular destination offering 30 self catering apartments, from apartments for 2 through to apartments that can sleep up to 8 guests. Several apartments also offer sea views.Only minutes from the town centre, The Villa provides the perfect base to explore Scarborough and the Yorkshire coast. The apartments are just 2 minutes walk from one the South Cliff cliff lift which provides easy access to The Spa complex and South Bay beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing