We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would definitely book again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
Reviewed October 7, 2012

booked for the weekend, had an apartment. recently done up, great wee kitchen, beautiful bathroom, beds soooo comfy. great service. we checked in late and had been left a parking validation so we didn't have to go out and buy one. our apartment was spotless, my only grumble was no corkscrew in the flat but the restaurant below kindly opened our bottles of wine for us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ailym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the villa in the summer this was our second stay and i have nothing bad to say about the place the flat we stayed in was excellent claen tidy and very spacious. The staff are very friendly and the plus point is that the mexican resturant at the front of the building serves very tasty food. the location is superb and overall a good place to stay and we will be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a. Most regrettable experience staying at this establishment to gain access to out rooms we had to pass through a corrider whic firemed part of the kitchen the rooms were not clean and very noisy and smelled from the coking in the Mexican Restaurant. I would hoghly reccomend avoiding this establishment.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I paid £50 for a room here. I'm not staying at a top London hotel. I got what I paid for.

Finding the hotel was easy. Reception was warm, friendly with a Yorkshire twist. The public areas are a little dated.

Our room had a beautiful sea view, was well furnished, clean and quiet. I didn't hear any other guests arrive and slept well in a comfortable bed.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mootman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I would have been happier staying in a tent on a camp site! The whole property have a very peculier smell, in fact a fowl smell. The beds were disgraceful, the kitchen and bathroom were rotten and I had seen better sofas in rubbish tips! Overall a disappointing stay to what could of been a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Not apartment 1!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We picked this place because of price and parking availability. We where told when we arrived they had no rooms left so they where putting us in a flat on the second floor. When we entered the flat there was a smell of damp the bathroom had tiles coming of the wall and a series of cracks in the ceiling there was no shower just a bath with an old tap hose we presumed to wash our hair with. I wouldn't have used it on my dog!. The kitchen was clean and ok.There were milk portions in the kitchen but no tea or coffee?? The bedroom was large but in it it had the most uncomfortable bed i have ever tried to sleep in the matress was lumpy the sheets etc where clean. The TV did not work.Both of the windows rattled all night. At 9.00am the fire alarm went off briefly we presumed this was to wake anybody who was still asleep!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickinhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The front of the Villa looks great, but entrance to the apartments is through a rather tatty side entrance since the front is now given over to a restaurant and cocktail bar. Inside the building is pleasant senough with rooms that could be called reasonably comfortable though still with room for improvement on the kitchen front. Our room looked out into an alleyway with rubbish but we could ignore that and the price it was all fair enough but you doo leave feeling that if you come back to Scarborough, you would like something a bit nicer!

Room Tip: Some apartments I think are better than others and have a better view - worth checking out what you...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Esplanade Self Catering Holiday Apartments

Address: South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Esplanade self catering apartments are located on Scarborough's South Cliff, overlooking the beautiful south bay. The Villa Esplanade is a popular destination offering 30 self catering apartments, from apartments for 2 through to apartments that can sleep up to 8 guests. Several apartments also offer sea views.Only minutes from the town centre, The Villa provides the perfect base to explore Scarborough and the Yorkshire coast. The apartments are just 2 minutes walk from one the South Cliff cliff lift which provides easy access to The Spa complex and South Bay beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing