We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Delmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delmont Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just returned from another great weekend at The Delmont with the Denis Collier Country Music weekend which has, and still takes place in that hotel three times a year for the last 21 years, with the same regular people. It's a family run hotel with a relaxed atmosphere, the staff have always been, and without exception, polite and helpful. It is not a five star hotel and the realistic prices reflect this. It is such a shame that too many English hotels these days have to reduce prices to a minimum in order to attract customers for low cost stays. This is without doubt, bound to have an impact on the maintenance of certain areas and the number of staff that it affords. The family always endeavour to keep their customers happy and if there are complaints these are usually dealt with to a satisfactory conclusion, and as long as the main things are in order, i.e. linen, towels and food ok that's fine as not much time is spent in one's hotel room usually. It is also a shame that most comments are usually received with negative feedback - happy customers (and there were plenty in our party) usually pass their comments on to only friends and family, however, they have all booked in for the next DCL break at The Delmont.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your extremely nice and balanced comments we really do enjoy your weekends and look forward to them all year.

Looking forward to seeing you all again at Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 491 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from a Country Music Weekend at the Delmont in Scarborough. Must say food was superb. The staff too were very helpful, very pleasant and very efficient. All in all it was a good weekend at a good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

thankyou so much for your lovely comments. As you know we really do try to give great value for money and your return time after time shows that we DO GET IT RIGHT. thanks again for taking the time to write this review look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel staff are polite and very helpful nothing is too much trouble, easy and quick check in and superb value for money. the room was extremely spacious with the most amazing view and very clean, the food is excellent with service to match. I am so glad I didn't take notice of the bad reviews as I really did have a first class stay. I would highly recommend great place for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank way0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you so much it makes you wonder where the other people have been staying who send such awful reviews doesnt it!!

Your very balanced comments reflect the way we try to run our hotel with as much value for money as possible whilst giving good servce

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived with a group of friends and were given the key to room 315, a very dark, unkempt, smelly room on the third floor. The pillows were stained beyond use and smelled awful as did the bedcover. The shower looked on its last legs, covered in patches of mould with the bottom of the shower tray broken away. The windowsill was caked in dirt. The carpet was dirty and no attempt had been made to vacuum it as there was loose change and litter on the floor. The owner received our complaint with a degree of sarcasm and indifference and no apology. He said it would be dealt with by the cleaner. However the cleaner was already dealing with a room following another complaint about dirty, stained and smelly bedding. Having also noticed the dirty state of the back of reception which I believe led to the kitchen, we were totally put off by the whole experience and booked into another hotel for our 2 night stay in Scarborough. Our group have stayed in hotels in the past that have needed updating but they have always been clean. That's not too much to ask is it?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

How sad you felt so unhappy to place such a disgusting comment. We did do our best to rectify your complaints but unfortunatley we did not find the problems with your room that you state after further inspection. We do realise that the room was on the back of the hotel but unfortunatley we do have back rooms aswell have sea view rooms and this is the luck of the draw as to which room you are allocated. Other guests staying the same weekend as yourselves had a lovely weekend as the comment after yours shows!!! We are a family run hotel and the mangement on duty was also the owner of the hotel. Most of our guests who return time and again like our freindly not too formal attitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

we arrived at the hotel 3hours b4 our booking in time.We asked the owner if we could leave our car and go for a walk.Surprisingly she said you,re room,s ready you,re welcome to the key.What a lovely warm welcome.the room was oldish,but clean and warm,bathroom,seperate shower.and toilet, Staff,sociable.Breakfast first class.2star hotel,but 5stars for the service from all the people who work there.

Room Tip: have one on the front,the view is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. How people can have such a difference of opinion baffles me when you stayed the same weekend as the couple above you.

You were lovely guests a pleasure to be of service to you thanks again. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently had our wedding reception here and the hotel was amazing, the staff were all really polite and helpful. The rooms were clean, tidy and well set out. The organiser of the event at the hotel was brilliant and she did everything she could to help us on our special day. We could not have found a better venue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to vist trip advisor and let everyone know how much you enjoyed your wedding at our hotel.

It was a true pleasure to be of service to you and your family and wish you a long and very happy marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Were to start. Greeted by the "manager" in a scabby tshirt, surrounded by flies at reception, then upon entering our room hit by the smell of mould and body odour. The bathroom if you could call it that had paper hanging on for dear life, the only thing keeping it on the walls was the damp. The room itself was large and the sea views were amazing but the dirty carpet with someones fingernail clippings still present, money and empty sugar packets was enough to take my mind away from the killer view. The sheets and pillows stank of b.o. and the mattress protectors had blood on them. No apology was offerred or even an explanation just a feeble ok and an attempt to change the pillows and try to smooth over the issues - which were not good enough so I bought my own pillows and sheets as I did not want my kids sleeping in dirty beds. I would not return to this hotel unless it was to watch it be bulldozed down. Rude management and staff that would advise you of what not to eat when they delivered your meal- really dont bother save your money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank k8wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughJoy, Owner at Delmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Well being the family of the people who posted a very nasty comment I am not surprised by your comments at all!! My husband does not wear "Scabby" clothes thank you very much nor was he surrounded by "flies" I find these comments very insulting and would not lower myself
to make comments about you and your family, In fact we do not agree with these sites and would it not become necessary to defend ourselves from petty minded people we would not even reply.
You had a wonderful room with 2 bay windows showing panoramic views of the bay. The room was freshly cleaned that morning and when the housekeeping staff returned to investigate your complaints found your complaints totally out of proportion however your pillows were changed not attempted to as you state so please do not use phrases to make things seem worse. We are a 2 star hotel and only charge 2 star prices. Our food is well liked by our guests and do not understand your comments about staff telling you not to eat it!!
Please read the comments from the other guests who stayed the same weekend and see a balanced approach! You obviously have a bee in your bonnet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
416 reviews
1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,299 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmont Hotel

Address: 18 - 19 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $57 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing