We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another happy holiday at the Delmont”
Review of Delmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delmont Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A big thank you to all the staff at the Delmont for another wonderful holiday.
As a Charity helping blind and partially sighted people we have stayed there many times, this year we took 32 members and 4 staff for a week in June.
The staff were very friendly and happy to help, the food was lovely and we all particularly enjoyed the excellent entrainment provided each night, they even put on something extra for one of our members 90th birthday party.
The feedback from everyone on the trip was well good and we have just confirmed our 2014 holiday.
Thank you again see you next June.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank SeanPymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 478 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We made the mistake by staying at the delmont hotel, so we want to warn anyone else thinking about staying here, then trust us do not !! We were greeted by an ignorant drunk man on reception, before being greeted with a dirty, smelly, disgusting room. The toilet in our room had been used before we arrived and not flushed, there was dirt, dust and cobwebs throughout the room and there was a disgusting smell coming from the bathroom which literally stunk out the entire room resulting in us reducing our originally planned 2 night stay to only 1 night stay as we could not handle it any longer.
We booked the stay via booking.com and did give the hotel and the website our feedback giving them the opportunity to refund us which was just refused point blank without any offer of a compromised part refund, as it turns out the hotel owner is just as arrogant as the man we called to explain why we had ended our weekend earlier than expected.
Please be warned !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the above hotel. We had a lovely sea view room which was very clean. Food we could not fault it was always very hot, and there was always plenty of it. The staff were always helpful and pleasant. The ground floor reception areas were very nice and welcoming. I think on a negative note some of the rooms are in need of refurbishment really the only thing about our room was that I think the carpet was in need of a clean. I think a lot of the reviews on trip advisor are very unfair and do not show the hotel in the light it deserves.

Well Done

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 416LINDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from yet another stay at the Delmont Hotel in Scarborough. We find it unbelievable the comments we read on trip advisor and feel that people must have the wrong hotel.
we cannot understand some of the comments i.e no radio/telephones in the rooms when there are!! bar not very well stocked??? it is a very large well stocked bar with different beers, lagers, wines and spirits. The breakfasts are served over a period of time between 8.30am and 9.15 am so find it hard to understand how they could be served half and hour late?
Anyway just thought we would try and put a few things straight and in proportion.
Please do not believe everything you read as we have visited many times and have never found it to be dirty or dingy as people have commented and the staff are always willing to oblige with anything asked of them. we will definitley be returning and have infact already booked our next visit

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aubrey437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hard working but disorientated and a bit disorganised staff. No apparent system for serving breakfast makes it a bit of a chore. Hotel is a bit old and in need of decoration but is clean enough.
The rooms are dated but adequate. It is well situated on the north of the coast amongst all of the other hotels.
Hotel was very busy when we were there . The staffing levels were very low, they did their best.
By the way when breakfast did eventually come it was very nice. Freshly cooked and hot.
The coffee was so weak though it was past saving.
I would go back but only with other guys for a lads weekend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

just spent the weekend at the delmont hotel and wouldn't stay again. on arrival we were informed that payment had already been taken from our account by a young man with a can't be bothered with u attitude. went to our room to find it dark dingy and dirty not been dusted or clean in what looked like months. went into the bathroom to find the shower door lent against the bathroom wall the shelf in the bathroom was filthy and only six squares of loo roll. the bed looked as if somebody had just got out of it. upon complaining to the young man at reception he had no idea what we was talking about and told he would go and check which he didn't cos nothing had changed when we returned. breakfast was 20 mins late on 1st morning with no apology or explanation and was cold and under cooked except the beans which looked like they were last weeks. breakfast on Sunday morning was 30 mins late with no apology or explanation then had to wait 35 mins before we was even asked if we wanted tea or coffee, there was only 2 waitress's that were run ragged trying to sort out a full cramped dinning room but at least the breakfast was warm this time. everybody that we spoke to on this weekend trip had the same complaints so its not just us being picky. we were told to complain to bookings.com as this was all their fault, don't know how that can be but i will be letting them know my views as well.to say we paid £70 per night is beyond a joke. very very poor hotel never again.

Room Tip: just dont book here is the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The bathroom was dark and filthy, Shower fittings broken of wall,
windows dirty in & out,
Old fashion bedding, Bar not much choice, Food well won't can i say,I will have to pass on this,
Sick,sick. The town is quite nice,lots of fish and chips shop.
A nice town for walking around ,you must walk around the point.

Room Tip: don't go?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FONZE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmont Hotel

Address: 18 - 19 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing