We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ellenby
Nearby Hotels
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$152
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$187
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$126
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$181
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
70
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn elzaa sea view roomshort breakexcellent hostsgreat place to staymy husband and i have justcomplimentary toiletriescooked breakfastcomfortable roomsfresh fruitbrilliant stayparking permitb blovely breakfaststay there again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 74 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

my husband and i have just been on a wonderful long weekend to the hotel ellenby, what a gem , the rooms where first class and were spotless .on all our travels we have not found such a pleasant hotel , john and his wife elza could not do enough for you , nothing was too much trouble, thank you for the wonderful breakfasts , i would definately recommend this hotel to all my friends . hope to see you again soon very well done x

Room Tip: room 14 was my favourite sea views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmine427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived and checked in and had to drag a large case up several flights of small narrow stairs, my husband suffers from a muscle wasting disease and this was not ideal, however he is very proud so would not complain, but no warning about inaccessibility for physically challenged people in the brochure and quite frankly a laze fair attitude all around on check in. This hotel was not as we expected by reading the reviews. We had a seafront room for which we paid extra and couldn't see the sea sitting on the sofa as advertised in the brochure the windows were too high and the sofa too low. There was a decanter with exactly 2 glasses of sherry in and the next day was reduced to 1 glass !(which I do frown on as guests could be alcoholics and that may tempt them to fall of the wagon !) Reading through the guest book in the room it stated that smoking was not allowed in the building which was good as we don't smoke but guests were smoking in the front car park and the smoke fumes were coming through our open window. although the Ellenby does not offer dinner(so this is really a B&B not a Hotel) we were informed that we were not allowed to bring back take aways and if we did then we would be charged from £30 clean up charges !why would depositing a food container and cutlery in the bin rack up a charge of at least £30. The TV which was advertised as 26inch was not ,it was a lot smaller and hung high on the wall so you had to watch it looking up at it. As I have a serious eye complaint this was impossible to do and was unable to do it. The "free cosmetics gave me a rash which I am still trying to get rid of. The entire place was very old fashioned and though extremely clean the style was stuck in the 80s. Breakfast was a breakfast and the coffee was weak. Sorry to be critical but expected so much more and have had a lot better for less money. Ellenby shame on you :do not try and make out you are a hotel when you are a B&B guest house and no more.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged in any way, have poor eyesight and do not have a giraffes neck please avoid the "Premier Double Room with a sea view" room 9
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzy007-333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at The Ellenby, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Shame on you Lizzy-007.

Thank you for your review and quite an unbelievable one at that.

You booked a 4-star Guest House and expected a 4-star Hotel. Your booking was made with us via our own website and in the first paragraph on the Home Page it states “seafront bed and breakfast”, and also mentions that we are a “Guest House”. Maybe there’s a clue in there somewhere as to why we don’t claim to be a Hotel.

My wife suffers from a bad back and I wasn’t there when you checked in. If you wanted help with your suitcase when you arrived then you should have mentioned this to us. Better still, mentioned it when you booked online, other guests have done so. You asked for a car parking space for your car (which we did) so why not mention the suitcases!

You were informed on the day you booked with us which room you were in so you should have known you were going to be on the 2nd floor. Our access policy on the website states we don’t have a lift. How did you think you were going to get to the 2nd floor? You were also asked to contact us should you have any further questions.

The decanter of sherry is a free ‘complimentary drink’ on arrival and not meant to be an endless supply of alcohol.

Your bedroom was located on the 2nd floor and the windows are approx 30 feet above the car park and set back from it. We had one guest who smoked during your 2-day stay (I’ve checked). I find it hard to believe that with your windows being so far away from an open car park that you would have experienced any smoke fumes.

Your bedroom was fully refurbished in 2006. In fact, all but 2 of our 12 bedrooms have been refurbished since 2005. It is an insult to suggest the building is old fashioned. We have been inspected every year by Visit Britain and awarded 4-star quality (April 2013) , this includes the décor.

We try to discourage guests from bringing take-away meals onto the premises because we have experienced the remnants of freshly dressed crab and pepperoni pizza sprawled all over the bed and carpet, as well as the smell of an Indian meal when guests have checked out. This has led to loss of earnings because we are unable to re-let the bedroom for days afterwards while we clean the carpets and mattress. I’m sure you would have been the first to complain if the bedroom stunk of crab when you first arrived! Incidentally, up to now, we have never charged anyone for this extra service.

We are always trying to improve the quality of the products in our bedrooms. The TV in your room was recently replaced with a new LED TV with built in DVD player (22”) and our website still has to be updated to reflect this. We make many changes to our rooms to try and improve ‘guest comfort’ but changing the advertising for every alteration we make takes time.

At the risk of going on and on with answering your absurd complaints can I recommend the next time you decide to book a short holiday and you want a Hotel, please book a Hotel. If you have trouble reading the literature on the Home Page of a website, get someone else to book it for you. Maybe next time you’ll put the right name on the online booking form so the owners will know who's coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

May Bank holiday weekend wow what great weather and what a good hotel booked only the day before so did not have a sea view room but the one we did have was very good, clean, bed great,right on the sea front lovely view out to sea brilliant so can recomend this hotel John and his wife looked after us well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastridingbigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazingly friendly and helpful hosts. Brilliant location with a stunning sea view from the room we stayed in, comfortable, clean and at a very reasonae price. The local attractions & facilities were all within very easy walking distance. To top it all the cooked breakfast is the best in Yorkshire if not the world.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible as there are fantastic views across the North Bay
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

we stayed at the ellenby hotel for a weekend about 10 min slow walk to the town so not too bad john and his wife were a great couple who made me and our friends very welcome beds really comfy breakfast was fab sets you up for the day lovely sea view from rooms 8 and 9 thanks for a great weekend will come back again

Room Tip: rooms 8 and 9 were great but room 3 looked fab all sea views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalienewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews