We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be our place of choice when in Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Headlands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“will be our place of choice when in Scarborough”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked this hotel for my elderly parents based on reviews here and a great rate for OAP's via Laterooms. They loved it. They found the decor to be clean and tasteful , the owners/staff to be friendly and helpful and breakfasts delicious. They plan this to be the only place they will now stay on their annual visit to Scarborough - can't say more than that !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridgetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your most excellent review on behalf of your parents. We are so pleased that your Mum and Dad enjoyed their stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome them back on their annual visit to Scarborough.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    58
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
82
160
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melton uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in the family room at the headlands and again we left happy guests. Room spacious and spotless and good nights sleep had by all, breakfast spot on.
Free wifi connection kept our boys happy and a decent pint in the bar worked for me.

Will be returning again , thanks to all

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkas18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. It was great to see you all again and most gratifying to see guests return to stay with us, hopefully it means we are doing something right. Keep well and it would be fantastic to see you all next year.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay here.The owners were very friendly, the room was clean and spotless with en suite, constant hot water especially in the shower. The bed was very comfortable. We had a view of the sea and the castle. there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room plus tv and free connection to Wi Fi. There was ample wardrobe and drawer space. The breakfast was first class, a selection of cereal,fresh and dried fruit, fruit juice, a good selection of jams and marmalade also a good choice of cooked breakfast, full English recommended. Would definitely recommend **** North cliff. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, and The Open Air Theatre. It takes a good half hour stroll to south cliff where there are plenty of shops ,bars and restaurants. overall we had a great stay in Scarborough and visited Whitby too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you ever so much Paula for the excellent comments in your review and for taking the time to post it, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Headlands and we enjoyed your company tremendously. We very much hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked two rooms for the four of us for our day and evening in Scarborough. I booked by phone and the proprietor advised me it was a quiet location and so it was....... a good night's sleep ensued (except for my son's wheezing! See below).

However, the rooms were a bit of a squeeze (but we could manage) and the bathrooms a real let down - tiny boxes containing just a shower and no bath. The showers were a pain - always running too hot or too cold and needing constant adjustment; in fact, in one room, it was impossible to keep to a safe temperature for more than a second or two..... could have been dangerous for a child..... such that it was impossible to use. We had to share the one in the other room and had too busy a schedule to bother informing management and waiting to get it fixed.

The rooms seemed quite clean but after my eldest happen to bash a cushion, we found the dust levels in the one room to be such that it brought on an athsma attack in my youngest son. I then checked and reckon there was quite a bit of dust in the cushions and curtains.... easily fixed though.

Breakfast was excellent with a great selection and good quality. The staff were friendly and very willing to provide a variation to the menu.

I would return if I was in Scarborough again...... but only if there was not availability in hotels with better bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us even if it wasn't entirely positive. I appreciate your comments about the quality of our breakfasts and the friendliness and willingness of the staff. Now if I may I would like to turn to your negative comments. You mentioned that you found the cushions and curtains were quite dusty, however I have to say that having checked them myself I didn't find that to be the case and certainly no worse than you would probably find in your own home. You also mentioned that the shower in one of your rooms was impossible to regulate. Again having checked it myself I couldn't find a problem. It is strange that no one before or since has mentioned it. Even stranger is your comment that because of your "busy schedule " you couldn't be bothered to mention it to the management if as you say " it could be dangerous for a child. " You had plenty of time to mention it at breakfast when I was talking to you or when you were checking out or indeed when you came back later in the day to use the toilet !!
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night with my son. Dave was very friendly and helpful on our arrival, and as we were only staying one night we did not sample the lounge or bar facilities so I cannot comment on them. The breakfast was nice, but having sampled a fair few hotels and B&B.s (see my recent review of The Old Bakery at Pulham Market) it was what I would expect and nothing more.
The reason that I would not stay here again was the cramped room, which would have been OK but for the en suite bathroom which is the smallest that I have used. Other people have mentioned this, but for a six footer like me it was seriously impractical.
The hotel is very clean but sadly I shall not return

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay, we're always pleased to receive feedback from our guests even when it's not entirely positive, it's one way to learn and hopefully improve.
I am very pleased that you found us friendly and clean which is the very least guests have a right to expect . Now if I may I would like to address some of your other comments, principally about the size of the room and ensuite. We do have bigger rooms at the rear of the property with bigger en-suites, but a lot of our returning guests request the room you stayed in because of the sea views, so it is a trade off really. Whilst admitting that the en-suites are not the biggest to suggest that ' for a six footer it was seriously impractical ' is to put it frankly simply not a true reflection.
Next can I turn to your comment about the breakfast. As you can see from previous reviews on Trip Advisor and many other websites we generally get high praise for our breakfasts but seeing as you mention The Old Bakery at Pulham Market by name can I just say you are hardly comparing like with like. They are a 5 star Gold Award listed building with 5 bedrooms, whilst we are a 4 star seaside B&B who are not trying to be anything else,but are just endeavouring to offer clean and friendly accommodation for a reasonable price.
I am sorry that you will not be returning to our establishment, but I guess it's true what they say you can't please all the people all the time.
Regards Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived after 9pm but that was no problem at all. We were shown to an immaculate double room and when we arrived back at 1030 pm fancied a drink. The owner served us even though we were the onle ones in the bar and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts are really good with cereals a plenty of of course the the good old english breakfast and a good vegetarian option as well. only needed one night but will definately use this place again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HexhamBashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you ever so much for the super comments in your review and very pleasing to see that you will use us again. It was a pleasure chatting to you both in the bar and we would be delighted to see you back here.
Regards Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we needed somewhere to stay after we had been to see Leona Lewis at the Open Air Theatre.

Checking in was painless. Dave was very friendly and made us feel at ease straight away as he showed us to our room.
We booked a double room but on arrival were shown to a family room. Bonus. A nice large, clean room with everything you'd expect. Comfy bed, and a nice quiet room on a night even with the windows open as it was a super hot night! Breakfast was good and checking out a doddle. The hotel is within a five minute walk of both the open air theatre, Peasholme Park and the North Bay. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YFU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic comments in your review, its very gratifying that you enjoyed your trip and that Leona was on top form. We would be delighted to see you both again next time there is something you fancy on at the OAT, or indeed for any other reason.
Regards, Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Property: The Headlands Hotel
Address: 16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Headlands Hotel in Scarborough, we are a 4star self classified detached family run Guest House ideally located on Scarborough's favoured North bay. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, North Cliff Golf Club, Indoor Bowls Centre, Scarborough cricket ground and The New Open Air Theatre. All our bedrooms, some of which come with stunning sea and castle views,are en-suite, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. All are equipped with Flatscreen TVs with Freeview, Tea & coffee making facilities, Radio/Alarm clocks, Hairdryer and a range of courtesy toiletries. We also have a spacious yet cosy Lounge with a well stocked Bar ideal for unwinding with a drink after a hectic and fun packed day. There is free WiFi internet access. We have a small private car park but there is also plentiful free parking right outside the Guest House. We are an ideal base for exploring all that Scarborough and the surrounding area has to offer like Whitby to the north, Filey & Bridlington to the south and of course York to the west. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and informal atmosphere which is why so many people choose to come and see us year after year. So if you are heading for Scarborough head for The Headlands !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing