We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Headlands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Looking for a small family run Hotel for long or short stay this is well worth a visit! Couple that run it are very nice and helpful with local information on places to eat and visit. Small bar in the Hotel with a good choose of drinks and draft beer and Larger. Only booked as B&B and breakfast was good. Harbour Bar in South Bay worth a visit if you like ice cream at its best. Book early as we left late and only got last room not much space but very clean. Will got back again as enjoyed the Easter break in Scarborough at the Headlands Hotel very close to North Bay. Ask them about Itailan restaurant in town good food but need to book. Go and have a lovely time away on a sort break or a long stay as we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Just book early as last room very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbymaltons-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments and very gratifying that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to come back and stay with us again, we would be delighted to see you both. Regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just the one night here, enroute back to Birmingham. No problems. Made very welcome, and directed to one of the best steaks I have ever had at the Oak Wheel, Burniston for evening meal.
Breakfast excellent --- piping hot -- as it should be. The whole place was clean and welcoming. Room was a bit small, but in view of the B & B price, I have to say this is very good value, Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoCoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely remarks and here's hoping that we will see you again in the near future. Regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the headlands for one night for a weekend at the racing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everywhere was clean and the staff were very pleasent and helpful. Nothing was never too much trouble. Breakfast in the morning was brought forward a little earlier than the scheduled time to accommodate those going to the racing. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smeet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks ever so for your fantastic review. It was lovely to meet you both and hopefully we will see you again for next years racing.
Regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay in Scarborough. We haven't stayed at this hotel before and we stayed in Room 6 in a twin bedded room. The room was very clean and comfortable. We did find the room very warm although we kept the windows open. We do think that the shower room needs modernising. Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay and the owners go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfasts are very substantial and there is a good choice of cereals and fruit etc., We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If it is during a very hot period Room 6 would be v hot even with windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chucklegrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your smashing comments and am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for the most part liked your room. As for that room being too hot ( not something that's been much of a problem for most of this year ! ) but should you come and visit us again and if you are lucky and experience a similar problem please mention it to us because we would happily provide you with a fan. You are right about the shower room being in need of a bit of modernisation and this winter the plan is to do just that. Anyway I hope we will see you both again.
Regards Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The staff are lovely. Rooms are adequate and clean. Bathrooms are small but it's not really an issue.
The breakfast was lovely and overall it was really good value for money.
The only thing its scores down on is the corridors smell funny.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your break with us. As for the "funny smell" in the corridors, I can only assume that you are referring to my squirty air freshener thingies, I can't think what else it could be. Anyway I hope that won't put you off coming to see us again.
Regards, Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife, two late teenage children and i stay two nights from august bank holiday monday for 2 nights. It was not very expensive £27 per person per night and the brekfast is very good. my daughter did not want the english brekfast but there is enough choice even for her to have a good meal. the hotel is very quiet at night and the only issue i had was i found the double bed in the family room far too soft.the children shared the room in bunk beds there issue was who slept on the top bunk. the bathroom had a bath and shower and was nice and big. my children told me that they had problems with the wifi in our room but it was a little better when we went in the bar.
the headlands is very clean and because we had little space in our room when we were in the hotel we spent time in the bar area. everytning of interest in scarborough is with in walking distance.

Room Tip: the family room for four does not have a sea veiw but is very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your largely positive review and I am pleased that you all enjoyed your breakfast. Moving on to your slight issues. I'm sorry that you found the double bed a bit soft but as I have said before it is impossible to buy a mattress that suits everybody's personal preference so we buy ones that are medium/firm in the hope that it will suit the majority of guests. The reason that there was not much space in your room is that to be honest that room is not designed for what was in effect 4 adults. Anyway I hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future but if you do may I respectfully suggest that it might be a good idea to book a double and a twin to give you all more space.
Regards Dave & Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here over the august bank holiday, and received a very warm welcome from Dave the proprieter, our room was spotless as was the whole hotel, the breakfast is excellent and the staff make it a very enjoyable experiance, the lounge and bar are a delight to rest in after a long day,
would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments.I am so pleased that you found your stay with us here at The Headlands an enjoyable experience and thank you for your recommendation. I hope we will be seeing you both again soon.
Regards, Dave & Gill Gardiner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#37 of 183 in Scarborough
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Address: 16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $105 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Headlands Hotel in Scarborough, we are a 4star self classified detached family run Guest House ideally located on Scarborough's favoured North bay. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, North Cliff Golf Club, Indoor Bowls Centre, Scarborough cricket ground and The New Open Air Theatre. All our bedrooms, some of which come with stunning sea and castle views,are en-suite, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. All are equipped with Flatscreen TVs with Freeview, Tea & coffee making facilities, Radio/Alarm clocks, Hairdryer and a range of courtesy toiletries. We also have a spacious yet cosy Lounge with a well stocked Bar ideal for unwinding with a drink after a hectic and fun packed day. There is free WiFi internet access. We have a small private car park but there is also plentiful free parking right outside the Guest House. We are an ideal base for exploring all that Scarborough and the surrounding area has to offer like Whitby to the north, Filey & Bridlington to the south and of course York to the west. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and informal atmosphere which is why so many people choose to come and see us year after year. So if you are heading for Scarborough head for The Headlands !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing