We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome for all ages”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Hotel Columbus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #87 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome for all ages”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights making a weekend out of the Boyzone concert in Scarborough. We were a party of 2 children (7 and 10), myself and my sister and my Mum. All felt very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

We had very comfortable rooms, the family room alone could have slept all 5 of us but we were accommodated over 3 rooms at no extra cost.

The hotel is ideally situated, close to Peasolm Park, the Open Air Theatre and north shore beach. All within easy walking distance and the open top buses soon get you to south shore if you wish to leave the more tranquil north shore.

We had a beautiful day on north shore beach. Lovely clean sands, donkeys looking cared for and happy and the added advantage of sunny weather.

I can really recommend Hotel Columbus for families. I am sure we will be back.

(Also my sister and daughter confirmed it really is the best porridge in the world).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
It was our great pleasure to meet and greet your lovely family. Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Columbus and Scarborough. We look forward to meeting all the family next time. Very best wishes, Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Scarborough to see Boyzone at the open air theatre. What a wonderful guest house. We had a lovely warm welcome by Anthony in the car park as I parked up he took our bags and took us straight up to our room which was great. Also offered us coffee and cake in the lounge which was lovely. Our room was nice and clean and very comfy (Room no2). Breakfast was fantastic with a buffy cart with fresh fruit cereals and juices, A nice hearty full English to follow all cooked to order and piping hot. Which was cooked by Sue and Hannah. Next time I am defiantly having the porridge as it smelled superb when I saw the family have it on the next table. Also it was really nice of Sue to allow us to park my car all day on the hotel car park as I was going to move it to one of the car parks In The north bay. To sum up this is a super little guest house in Scarborough and we are already planning to stay on our next visit to Scarborough. It is value for money and close to all the attraction in the north bay and only a 5 min walk to the beach. I am already looking forward to staying there again and will highly recommend it to my friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful stay Anthony Sue and Hannah.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonGibson291279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, your kind comments are most appreciated, thank you again. Our famous porridge just gets better and better! Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Friendly homely clean and comfortable hotel. Sue,Tony and Hannah are wonderful hosts. The hotel is in walking distance to the open air theatre to which we watched Boyzone in concert. Also close to tge beautiful Peasholm Park and seafront. This is my second visit to Columbus and I will certainly return again at some point and would highly recommend it. Great evening meal and full english breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxrossi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
It was lovely to see you both again and catch up. Take good care and here's to the next time! Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for 1 week in july,and very much enjoyed the warm welcome and attention we received. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy. breakfast was 1st rate and plentiful. we would highly recommend it and would definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 .perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
It was our great pleasure to great you, and so pleased you enjoyed your Holiday in Scarborough. We look forward to the next time! Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night to go to Status Quo concert at open air theatre. Given a very warm and friendly welcome. Greeted in the car park and showed upstairs to our rooms after being offered tea or coffee. Room perfect, everything we needed. Given own key so we could get in if late. Very quiet in room at night even though a busy road. Breakfast was top class and no problem to have extra toast etc. Near to peasolme park, sealife centre, cricket ground and perfect for open air theatre not forgetting short walk to beach on north bay. No hesitation in booking here again when we visit scarborough.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front great views up and down street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen24312016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and so pleased you enjoyed your short break in Scarborough. Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here while in Scarborough to see Status Quo perform at the open air theatre. What a welcome we received! Coffee and cake......the room was ready early and was first class. Clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Breakfast was superb . Our hosts were really friendly and we will be sure to return.

Room Tip: Close the window if you don't want to be woken by seagulls early morning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments are most appreciated. We look forward to your return. Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have now used this hotel twice - it is handy for our visits to the nearby Open Air Theatre. Sue, Anthony and their daughter Hannah have taken over the running of this family business since our last stay and their attention to detail makes a visit all the more enjoyable. We were welcomed with a pot of tea, and they were quite happy to provide an evening meal, the quality and price of which puts many large hotels to shame, for those of the guests who were attending the Theatre. The breakfast was excellent as well (Sue tells us that she makes the best porridge in the world and I can't disagree).

I have known the North Bay well for about 55 years and prefer it to the noisy, brash, arcade-filled South Bay. The Columbus is ideally situated for the North Bay, Peasholm Park and the railway to Scalby Mills, where the Sea Life Centre can be found, as well as the Open Air Theatre. If you prefer the South Bay, you can always use the sea front bus service to get there. All in all, a great place to stay at a fantastic price.

Room Tip: They all seem to be good - remember that the (many) small hotels and guest houses in Columbus Ravine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Columbus, your feedback is most helpful. Kind regards Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Newlands Guest House Columbus Ra...
#143 of 182 in Scarborough
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#24 of 182 in Scarborough
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kingsway Hotel
The Kingsway Hotel
#72 of 182 in Scarborough
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robyn's Guest House
Robyn's Guest House
#30 of 182 in Scarborough
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: 124 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with all the comforts of home, are just some of the special ingredients which make your stay at Hotel Columbus a holiday to remember.The hotel is open all year and offers bed & breakfast accommodation with an optional evening meal on request. Hotel Columbus is a detached purpose built hotel with private car park. Conveniently situated close to all the North Bay attractions; just a short stroll from Peasholm Park, the Open-Air Theatre and pristine sandy beaches of the North Bay. You can take a ride on the miniature railway to the Sea Life and Marine Sanctuary at Scalby Mills, then stroll back along the promenade; or catch the open-top bus along Marine Drive for all the many activities to be found on the South Bay.Anthony, Sue and Hannah look forward to greeting you very soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing