We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Columbus
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Scarborough
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brindley(Scarborough)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bay Norbreck Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
72
6
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
6
0
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 80 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We decided to stay in Scarborough on a whim, very glad we chose this place. We were given room 3, which is at the front of the hotel. The room was very quiet, with very little road noise, and barely any noise from inside the hotel. The bed is extremely comfortable and the room very clean. The hosts were awesome, couldn't have asked for anymore. Breakfast was delicious, and was offered a choice of breakfast options. I couldn't recommend this place more, it is definitely value for money. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I cannot write or speak highly enough of the Columbus hotel or of the wonderful people who run it.

From the moment of the initial telephone call to the moment we left we were treat with star quality customer service!

We were welcomed upon arrival and helped with our bags. The rooms were beautiful, very clean, light, airy and comfortable with all the little home comforts you could ask for.

They were wonderful with our dogs and they were treated just as well as we were.

We were staying for my brother's 40th birthday and we're given rooms which were close together. (booked the gorgeous 4 poster bedroom for my Bro and sis in law)

They were extremely accommodating to the whole family ( we had two children aged 7 and 2) they took the time to chat to us and ask if there was anything we needed. We were provided tea, coffee
Hot chocolates....just perfect after a long journey and day out.

We were struggling to find places to eat for my bros birthday and the owners didn't hesitate to give us recommendations and directions from the bed ans breakfast.

The food was world class!!!

Wonderful variety and home cooked :-D

We had amazing breakfasts on both days (just this morning I had the best porridge ever!!) all beautifully presented.

On the Saturday evening we had a stunning 3 course meal which was Home made tomato and basil soup, roast beef dinner with all the trimmings and an incredible meringue with fresh strawberries!!

Even though we kept them on their feet hehe they are the most professional, kind, caring, helpful people and home from home establishment we've ever stayed and and cannot wait to return in the near future!

Thank you so much hotel Columbus :-D

Rachel xx

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeRae1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend in Scarborough. I was our pleasure to greet your delightful family, hope to see you again very soon. Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Left very early at 5am to travel to Scarborough to watch motorbike racing at Oliver's Mount. Got to hotel at 9.30am and was greeted with very warm welcome with tea and cakes. Susan and husband (sorry can't remember his name) were more than helpful while we were with them. Ferrying us (2 couples) up to Oliver's MOunt, picked us up when it had finished and took us back out again at night. They really went the extra mile for us. Susan also recommended a lovely place to eat in the evening too. The hotel was lovely place, bed was very comfy! Breakfast in the morning was stunning and Susan even got up and baked scones for our friend that was staying with us. All in all we had a great trip and really enjoyed staying at the Columbus and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We returned to the Columbus again for bank holiday weekend this year and couldn't have been made more welcome. The new managers were most helpful particularly with the oldest member of our family who is disabled. They cheerfully coped with all 16 of us, accommodating everyone's needs from the youngest aged 7 to the oldest aged 91. Excellent breakfast - the porridge is to be thoroughly recommended.!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionamward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It was our pleasure to meet and greet your lovely family - hope to do it all over again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Columbus August 2013 for 2 nights and we could not have asked for a better hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the hospitality is amazing. We were made very welcome from the minute we pulled into the car park. Excellent value for money and we would highly recommend. My parents stayed a couple of weeks before and said exactly the same things. We will definitely be booking again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are so delighted you enjoyed your few days in Scarborough. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews