We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in every way.”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Hotel Columbus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #95 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food is excellent, including very good cooked breakfasts and optional home cooked evening meals which are very reasonably priced. It is a small family run hotel and the owners are very friendly. A lovely clean place. Very near to Peasholme Park and the North bay. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rache10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Me and the family decided to pop to scarborough for the night and near 3 o clock we was trying.to find somewhere to stay when we came across columbus.. The couple running it was very friendly and took an interest they where great with my 2 children and let my 2 year old help to clean away the breakfast.. Overall i would highly recommend columbus and if we are ever over there would defo go back to them to stay.. Great work guys xx

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaniandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and two children spent a great night at the Columbus. We were greeted in the car park on arrival, followed by tea and cake. The owners are very warm and welcoming. The location is excellent - a short walk to the Peasholm Park and the beach. The family room is lovely, although thicker curtains to stop the early morning sun coming in would help. We had a lovely stay and the breakfast was fabulous, especially the porridge. The kids also really liked the wooden rocking horse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJTJTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Columbus Hotel rescued our bank holiday weekend when our original hotel was overbooked and we were left high and dry without a place to stay. The Columbus is a small family run hotel on the North Bay side of town close to the open air theatre, just a five minute drive or twenty minute walk from the town centre. We were made very welcome, there is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble. A lovely family and dog friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherwell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just come back from staying at the Hotel Columbus, When booking the hotel nothing was to much trouble, because of the distance of travelling, it looked like we wouldn't get there to about. 2am, but that wasn't a problem they was going to stay up to let us in, not many hotels would do that. But has it was we altered our plans and got there earlier. Has soon as we pulled up out side Anthony was there to greet us, all through our stay they couldn't do enough for us, tea, coffee, scones, I would recommend Hotel Columbus to any one with out any hesitation, Also the porridge at breakfast is to die for! a true 5 Star experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Owner at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words - we look forward to greeting you again soon. Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel. Anthony, Susie and Hannah could not be any more accommodating. They went the exta mile all round. Providing a great breakfast, fresh scones as a snack and Susie helped with her fashion designing by sewing my daughters dress. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and tidy. I understand from the owners that they are updating as they only took over the hotel in November. Thank you for your fantastic service. I would recommend their hotel to all. Go and visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraT55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Owner at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Columbus for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from our 3 day stay in the hotel Columbus and I can honestly say that I've never been somewhere so welcoming, nothing was to much trouble and we were made to feel right at home. A big thankyou goes out to our hosts!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Owner at Hotel Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this report, it was our pleasure to serve you and the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough South Bay Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: 124 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $35 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with all the comforts of home, are just some of the special ingredients which make your stay at Hotel Columbus a holiday to remember.The hotel is open all year and offers bed & breakfast accommodation with an optional evening meal on request. Hotel Columbus is a detached purpose built hotel with private car park. Conveniently situated close to all the North Bay attractions; just a short stroll from Peasholm Park, the Open-Air Theatre and pristine sandy beaches of the North Bay. You can take a ride on the miniature railway to the Sea Life and Marine Sanctuary at Scalby Mills, then stroll back along the promenade; or catch the open-top bus along Marine Drive for all the many activities to be found on the South Bay.Anthony, Sue and Hannah look forward to greeting you very soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing