We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aartswood Guest House
Ranked #160 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Gainsorough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Aartswood Guest House last night, 1st June 2013. We arrived around 3pm and were greeted by the landlady. We were shown to our room which was very nice. Clean, tidy and comfortable. We had a lovely view of Scarborough Cricket Ground.
The bed was a little creaky, but quite comfy. The shower and toilet were very compact but again were very clean and tidy. Shower was lovely!
Breakfast was a full English and very tasty.
Although we only stayed one night, I would recommend the Aartswood and we would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
9
31
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hull uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Enjoyed Scarborough Warm welcome but Guest house could do with redecorating throughout no heating on when we arrived room was cold . also summer quilt on bed in march .only been in guest house 4 mins and was asked to pay full amount had not even got suit cases out of the car .Breakfast was poor quality and deep fried

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cliff381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aartswood Guest... S, Owner at Aartswood Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

When you arrived, the central heating was turned on throughout the building but the dial located at the side of your radiator in your room must have been in the 'off' position, for which we apologise.

Given the changeable temperatures in Spring, the issue of which type of duvet to use varies according to personal taste. To this end, we supply both Summer AND Winter quilts along with other spare bedding which can be found in the Ottoman in each room. If you had raised your concerns with us at the time, we could have informed you of this.

The Guest House is redecorated annually and in general, we have found that a neutral colour scheme promotes a relaxed ambience that consequently enhances sleep quality.

Research has proved to us that most Guests prefer to settle their account on arrival. This reduces potential confusion and embarrassment later and also enables Guests to budget their stay accordingly. Our policies regarding this issue were clearly displayed on your booking form.

The extensive Breakfast Menu which is displayed on each table contains quality locally sourced ingredients. This includes a choice of light/healthy options. While we try to cater for numerous varied tastes, we regret that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, Northumberland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We love scarborough and usually try to visit once every year this was a last minute visit and we didnt book anywhere we just decided to see where we could stay for the night we came across thr aartswood 1st and decided to see what we could get, the owners are so friendly and went to start cleaning our room for us straight away, we had a nice, spotless big room on the top floor with a TV and kettle with tea and coffee, the stairs werent all too easy to get up and down with heavy bags but it was worth it, breakfast was lovely it felt like we were visiting family! :) would plan to stay there next time we go to scarborough

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've visited Scarborough before but only flying afternoon visits so spending five nights at the Aartswood allowed us to see what the area has to offer.

The welcome from the owners is excellent and we were well looked after. Our room was at the top of the house, on the third floor, with a single window with a marvellous view of the cricket ground behind the building. The room was comfortable and the shower was particularly good.

Breakfast each morning was served promptly and there was a wide choice of items within the overall description of a full English breakfast. We had our dog staying with us and he was treated each day to a breakfast sausage for us to take back to the room.

Scarborough is split into the North and South beaches, with the former quieter and undeveloped and very close to the B&B, compared to the bright lights of the South beach. There are good restaurants within ten minutes walk of the B&B and a longer walk will reward you; each morning we took a long circular route through the nearby excellent Peasholm Park and along the beach for a coffee watching the sunrise before returning to the Aartswood for a shower and filling breakfast.

All-in-all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Book at last min arrived early than we said not a problem .went out for a walk came back room was great clean tv with free view . Kettle to make a drink clean towels breakfast to die for . See you in oct guys love this place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked to stay at the Aartswood at short notice for my partner's uni reunion in Scarborough. The price was very reasonable at £48 for 2, B & B. We were able to check in at any time, for our convenience, and were given a free parking permit for our stay. The bedroom 5 was a clean, spacious room on the top floor, overlooking the cricket pitch. The owners are a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome, and we thoroughly enjoyed their cooked breakfast! The overall location is good, near to the North Bay. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in July and had the room on the top floor with en-suite. It was nice and clean. We were luck with out stay as there was a cricket match on and did not finish till very late. My son and I enjoyed watching this. Breakfast was lovely as alway in a B&B. The owner were nice and friendly and helpful. It is also a short walk to Scarborough Gardens which is lovely to see. Would stay again and also recommend this place to our friends

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you dont mind the walk up the narrow stair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#52 of 183 in Scarborough
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 183 in Scarborough
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#78 of 183 in Scarborough
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arran in Scarborough
Arran in Scarborough
#159 of 183 in Scarborough
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amrock Guest House
Amrock Guest House
#54 of 183 in Scarborough
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#56 of 183 in Scarborough
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aartswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aartswood Guest House

Property: Aartswood Guest House
Address: 27/29 Trafalgar Square, Scarborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aartswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Aartswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing