We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed! Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aartswood Guest House
Ranked #148 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Me and my husband have just stayed here for three nights. Was our first time in Scarborough. From the moment we got there was made to feel very welcome with helpful couple will and maureen. Rooms were clean and tidy and had a great view of cricket ground superb!. Room had all we needed and bed was comfy. Breakfasts were fantastic full English every morning tasted just like you want it. Fab eggs yoky every time ha. . Overall we will be going back. Lovely Scarborough lovely place to stay!. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlife4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

Yet another lovely 2 night stay at the "Aartswood". Will and Maureen are the perfect hosts where nothing is to much trouble.Our usual bedroom is always spotless with a very comfy bed,flat screen t.v,tea tray ect. Lovely views over the cricket ground .The "tilt and turn" window,opens right out so you can breath in the lovely sea air.To the front is a delightful grass area,maintained by the local residents to a high standard.There is plenty of street parking outside and you are given a free permit from Will and Maureen,( some places charge for this.) Only a 15 minute stroll to the town or a 5 minute stroll to the cliff top where you can zig zag down to the beach. To us there is no other place to stay.We always get a warm welcome, including our dog who looks forward to his cold sausage in a morning.Many thanks to you both.!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dansonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend for a couple of nights and we absolutely loved it. The staff were marvellous, very friendly without being too intrusive. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnsmith050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We are a married cuple in our forties and we stopped at the Artswood for a short break and had a fantastic stay. The rooms were top quality, the service was second to none and the location was perfect. All in all we couldn't have asked for better. We would recommend this guest house to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I would give this B&B a fairly good review but for one reason. At 3am in the morning we were woken to the window in our room being blown in by the gale force winds outside..We spent from 3am until 6am trying to hold shut a faulty window with a broken frame. We tried to raise the owners by banging on the door,ringing the hotel phone and the mobile number that is given for emergencys in reception but no answer to any of them. We even though we had payed for 2 nights bed and breakfast we left at 6 am to go home and get some sleep. We have not heard from the owners since we've returned to offer us a refund or apology.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derby_nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamlea, Owner at Aartswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

In response to this review, we would like to point out that:

1 The window in question is a modern, double glazed, tilt and turn unit and was not and never has been, 'broken' or 'faulty'.

2 The 'mobile number given for emergencies' is only for if we are out of the building. The procedure for contacting us in the middle of the night is quite clearly displayed in the welcome brochure in each room.

3 The first we knew of this guest's grievance was when we saw this review on Trip Advisor. While we are sorry that this guest didn't enjoy his stay, we feel that this review is totally unwarranted.


We take complaints of this nature seriously and pride ourselves as giving excellent service and value for money. This can be borne out by the many positive comments that we have received from satisfied guests down the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
5.9 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aartswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aartswood Guest House

Address: 27/29 Trafalgar Square, Scarborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $51 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aartswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Aartswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing