We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Holiday Ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

After booking the holiday online, me and my family were expecting a fun packed holiday, where the adults and children of the family could relax and have fun together, but we wasnt prepared for the complete opposite. First of all we noticed the customer service on the site was awful, as there was hardly no management on the entertainment complex, as there wasnt regular "pass checks" which made me and my family feel unsecure as anyone could get on the site. Moving on the caravan was at a moderarty state when we arrived. when we first experienced our first night on the entertainment complex we found the arcade to be very small, the swimming pool to be very poor in cleanliness and the entertainment was absolutly shocking e.g the room for the entertainment was very compact, the purple coats or what ever you call them where very bad at entertaining and they couldnt sing or dance properly, the kids entertainment was also very bad with hardly show of sparky one of the kids fravourite attractions of the holiday park and there was no daytime clubs for the kids, all they could do is go to the park or ball room.

The only good thing about the holiday park was that it is at a good location with scarborough and filey as close big beach towns, also the food was quite good on the site (thats about the only thing) . Even if park resorts ever offered me a free holiday i wouldnt go, as i feel it was a wasted 1 week of my life. Instead i would rather book a usual holiday with butlins at skeggness, where the site has a lot more to offer to customers, with really good children and adult entertainment e.g children entertainment starts at about 8am and good night entertainment for all the family to enjoy. Plus the customer service is excellent, with a red coat round every corner to offer help.

So i would strongly reccomend you not to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mufcfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    457
    292
    156
    188
See reviews for
1,091
200
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I loved every minute of the stay there the team on site are great the band are amazing ents manager makes me laugh like lee evans over all one of the best if not the best holiday site in yorkshire great value for money

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Having read previous reviews I was a little apprehensive about our SUN holiday to Cayton Bay but I needn't have been.
We only paid the minimum amount to Park Resorts as we declined the bedding and entertainment passes so four nights only cost me £62 in total for 2 adults and my two teenage sons. I had paid for a bronze two bedroom caravan so was very pleasantly surprised to be allocated a 3 bedroom caravan at no extra cost. Although the caravan was old, it was very clean and had a newly fitted carpet. Inside my welcome pack were entertainment passes that i hadnt asked for or paid for either which was another added bonus although we only used them once as the club isnt really our scene. We will certainly be looking out for the tokens in the Sun for next year. Give it a try, we did and i am very glad we did!! Bargain!

Room Tip: Dont hire their bedding, take your own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed in a gold caravan which was like a home from home. Everything worked on arrival and the caravan was spotless.
The holiday park is itself spotless and very friendly. The staff do everything possible to make sure your stay is a happy one.
The entertainment on a night is a must for both adults and children alike. Try out the talent shows.
Best of all there is Cayton Bay beach a short walk away from the holiday park. It is one of the cleanest beaches i have ever visited. Its well hidden so it's peaceful and relaxing. There is plenty of rock pools for the children so make sure you buy a fishing net before you go to the beach.
On the way down to the beach there is a little wooden hut which sells drinks, hot dog, ice creams and your beach essentials
If you want a more livier beach then there is a bus stop outside the holiday park where you can get buses to near by Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington.
I would recommend Park Resorts Cayton Bay Holiday park to anyone. There is plenty to do and see both on the holiday park and near by.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

my wife and i have been to cayton bay holiday park for the last two years on a sun holiday the caravan we was allocated on both ocassions were clean well furnished and very roomy this park resorts site is ideally situated for visiting nearby resorts scarborough bridlington and whitby etc. we didnt use all the ammenaties pool etc on site as we are both pensioners and have mobility problems.getting to the beach is a problem for us as its a pretty long walk and steep road down to beach and this i think would cause problems for anyone with young children etc.. this being our only drawback we will certainly return to this site in 2011 .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorisday18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

booked with sun holidays,, caravan was a standard one,, was very spacious and of good standard,facilities in the caravan was good,, bar was expensive and staff a bit rude at times,beach was a steep incline and not suitable for small children, in pushchairs, but beach was nice once you managed to climb down!short drive to scarborough, bridlington,filey, overall enjoyed are short break, stayed at Haven Primrose Valley in October was terrible,, Cayton Bay loads better and would go again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

nice park, well kept, tidy etc. great location close to scarborough, friendly staff (much nicer and more helpful than their Haven rivals) Unfortunately the issues I have are beyond their control.1) The site appears to have a huge drainage problem, when it rains the water lays on the grass and in places has nowhere to go but as there are very few paths leading up to the caravans you have to walk through the bog!! our shoes were wrecked and the caravan thick of mud! no parking next to caravans I guess if you did you'd get stuck anyway and they charge £20 to remove vehicles which get stuck in mud! it is a huge problem.
2) they seem to overbook and this has happened to us both times that we have been, hence, if there is a problem with your allocated caravan there is no other vans available to be re located to! if a van is sourced its that or nothing!
3) Cleaners!! inexperienced and ill equipped young chavs. bless them, clueless!. no wonder caravans are dirty upon arrival, i always take anti bacterial wipes but i would have needed 50 packets to clean this van!! bathroom thick of mould an inch thick, skirtings had turned black and carpet under rug had blue mould growing!!! I rang reception and a young lad turned up with a cloth and a bottle of spray!!!
we packed our car back up and headed for reception to be moved..... as I mentioned earlier there are never any vans to be moved to, the manager frantically rang around owners and eventually found us another caravan.
3 lights didnt work, the heaters were faulty,the toilet was blocked, it was super basic and surround by a bog!!

I give up on Cayton Bay I'm sad to say :(

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caravannerDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,738 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
4.0 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
3.2 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 34 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Mill Lane | Cayton Bay, Scarborough YO11 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all action stations at this fabulous Park near the seaside resort of Scarborough. With a great choice of entertainmnet you'll be toe tapping and hand clapping all night! Facilities include a fun pool with flume, all weather multi sports court, adventure playground, crazy golf and soft play area, volleyball and basketball. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing