We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excerlent Long weekend”
Review of Rose Dene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Dene
Ranked #29 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Fourteen of us arived soaking wet on the thursday evening all on Harley davidson motorbikes not a problem for Sandra & Graeme who showed us straight to our rooms and then gatherd wet gloves coats extra to dry for us and put heating on in July they then jugled the parking so our bikes were away from the road.The food and the service were excerlent, breakfast plenty for bikers who love there food and evening meal very resable hotels postion very close to all amenaties we all highly recamend rose-dene and we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just spent three days with Sandra and Graeme at the Rose-Dene. Warm welcome with lots of advice on where to go and where to park the bike. Lovely and clean rooms and dining room, great breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Recommend to all bikers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerbabe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Booked via email a twin room for myself and a biker mate for one night. Sandra was extremely helpful about parking the bikes and assured us that they were safe from thieving gits! They - Sandra and Graeme guided us to local pubs and where best to buy evening meals. The rooms were perfect for us and very quiet breakfast was cooked and a choice - we went for full english. It kept us going for the day!!
They are both lovely people and both bikers so if you are looking for accommodation this place will see you alright.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarge483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

After reading favourable reviews of the Rose Dene we stayed here for the weekend and it was fine. Sandra the landlady was very welcoming. On arrival we were allocated our room, and when going up the stairs the doors to the other rooms were open, so we had a look in! Our room (on the top floor) seemed rather compact in comparison to the others and the bathroom was very small, the triple room on the first floor was more spacious with it's own seating area, and most other rooms seemed to have had a refurb more recently. However the B&B was very clean and the breakfast was as you would expect. Considering the hotel is on a main road it was very quiet and all rooms have double glazing. We went to the Coffee Bean cafe down the road for our fish and chips and they were great - very good value and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseWlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Hi Thankyou for your review :) as you will see all rooms are now fully refurbished :) sorry you were disapointed with your room but the room you saw had already been booked for months! it is a very popular room as it has a large bay window, Yes I agree that the ensuites are on the small side but the building wasnt built to accomodate ensuites and they were already in place when we bought it, so there is not a lot i can do about them if they were bigger the rooms would be so small afterall you dont spend much time in them but they are private to you! instead of sharing with other guests & running down the hall in your nightdress :) :)
You would be made most welcome if you chose to return to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

A very comfortable stay in a clean and welcoming b+b. Excellent breakfast and will cretainly hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobglov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

A delightful place to stay- the room was spotlessly clean and fresh, elegant and tastefully decorated...comfortable beds and seating too....freeview tv and internet access were great as we have a toddler so were back relatively early....very handy for walking into town for shopping, or down to the beach and castle..or the park and sealife - great location means you can park on site and leave the car behind to venture out on foot. The hosts are lovely, and Sandra's breakfasts are a real treat - and individual tables in the dining room, which again is immaculate...plates and cutlery available if you want to get take-aways - again ideal with youngsters....I would recommend the Rose-Dene 100%, you won't be disappointed !!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Rose Dene is a lovely place, Sandra is a great hostess, she's makes you feel so much at home and goes out of her way to help you, and her cooked breakfasts are a must!!! We would definitely stay at Rose Dene again, next time we're in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanromy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Guesthouse
Dolphin Guesthouse
#33 of 183 in Scarborough
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#11 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
646 reviews
1.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Dene

Address: 106 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $72 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Dene 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Rose Dene. Our aim is to make your holiday in Scarborough both enjoyable and memorable. Excellent quality home cooked breakfast. All rooms en suite. Small private car park and free parking permits. We hope our friendly atmosphere will make your stay both comfortable and happy. Positioned in the North bay of Scarborough, close to all North Bay attractions like the Sea Life Centre, Open Air Theatre, Peasholm Park and not forgetting the beach. Town centre easy walking distance. Free WiFi throughout the building and USB sockets in all bedrooms. A good base for touring the North Yorkshire Moors National Park and small market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rose Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing