We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay”
Review of Rose Dene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Dene
Ranked #30 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for the first weekend in August after a last minute decision to spend a long weekend on the Yorkshire coast. Although we arrived earlier than expected we were warmly greeted and welcomed by Rose Dene's owner Sandra. She is an absolute gem! She helped us with our luggage and showed us to our room, and was most helpful with recommendations when we told her it was our first trip to Scarborough. Our family room was ideal for the three of us and had everything you needed for your stay. Everything was spotlessly clean and you can tell the owner really takes pride in her guest house and makes an effort to be as helpful as possible to her guests - nothing is too much trouble. Although our room was situated in the top of the house, there weren't millions of flights of stairs to climb (a welcome relief after our previous night's stay in a Whitby guesthouse which had several large flights to mountaineer!) Our room was airy and quite spacious, with plenty of choice on the tea/coffee tray with both instant and filter coffee available (cute little coffee machine) and a choice of regular tea or herbal teas, and also hot chocolate and biscuits much to my son's delight. Beds were comfy and bathroom spotless and well appointed with plenty of towels for the three of us. Breakfast was fab with plenty of choice including fresh fruit, juice, cereals, yogurts, toast, tea and coffee, and a selection of cooked breakfasts made to order too. Location is good and about 5 mins walk to the beach and to Peasholm Park, and about 5-10 mins walk to the outdoor theatre. There is an on-site car park with permits available for additional parking. We had no problem parking in their car park, which was good considering it was the height of the season and full occupancy too. All in all a great stay and Sandra's customer care and quality of service is excellent - she could really teach some of the large hotels a thing or too. Would highly recommend if you're thinking of staying in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshDesignerMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Rose Dene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

we stayed here for two nights and I must say we had the friendliest welcome ever.We were even helped to our room with our helmets and gear which is a first,the room was spotlessly clean although it had the smallest bathroom ever but in all fairness its not like you spend any real time in there,breakfast was a choice of cerials and fruit with a freshly cooked breakfast to follow(best fried bread ive ever had)plenty of parking,we parked the motorbike down the side of the house which meant it was tucked nicely out of the way.For anyone with walking issues it is a flat 5 to 10 minute walk into the center of town. We would definitely stay here again.Brilliant

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are pretty much the same
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is in a perfect location for the north beach area I including peasholm park. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished and the breakfast is 1st class. I have stayed here a number of times and the owner could not be more helpful I thoroughly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irons88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a lovely, welcoming and spotless place. Sandra is lovely, room was spacious, clean and with great facilities. Breakfast was amazing. I would recommend to anyone visiting Scarborough or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xBobcatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra W, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thankyou for your review it is much appriciated! now I have worked out how to respond I aim to leave a comment on all my future reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stranded in Scarborough on a very cold and windy April day, after 3 failed attempts in close-by Beds & Breakfasts, I was warmly greeted at Rose Dene and really enjoyed the clean, cosy, quiet and warm room!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varanasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just came back from on the 3rd November. we just cannot fault it. Sandra makes you welcome from the first minute, rooms nice and tidy, food is first class, Location is just right for us. We will be down again next Feb.


john .

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Travelled down from Scotland to the Rosedene. Fantastic weekend with fantastic people. Large freshly decorated room. Great homecooking and even better service. Will be planning to return in the early New Year. Weather was good. Peaceful stay - nice and quiet location. Would recommend this guesthouse to everyone who is looking for a great place to stay. Im sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toots15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Willow Dene
Willow Dene
#49 of 184 in Scarborough
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 184 in Scarborough
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Dene

Address: 106 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $73 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Dene 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Rose Dene. Our aim is to make your holiday in Scarborough both enjoyable and memorable. Excellent quality home cooked breakfast. All rooms en suite. Small private car park and free parking permits. We hope our friendly atmosphere will make your stay both comfortable and happy. Positioned in the North bay of Scarborough, close to all North Bay attractions like the Sea Life Centre, Open Air Theatre, Peasholm Park and not forgetting the beach. Town centre easy walking distance. A good base for touring the North Yorkshire Moors National Park and small market towns. Small well behaved pets welcome to some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Rose Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing