We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night stay”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #25 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Well, just back from an overnight stay in Scarborough at No 17 West street. The weather was bleak for most of the time we were there but Andy's hospitality made up for that and the room we stayed in (at the top, no 8) was just fine. Decent shower, very good comfortable bed and a great breakfast on Sunday morning made the stay very pleasurable.
Andy gave us a recommendation for an Italian on the Saturday evening (Tuscany Too) and it was great, wine a bit pricey but a good shout nevertheless.
As there is a plethora of B&B's in the area to choose from, No17 is certainly one to put at the top of the list; quality coupled with great customer service. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for No. 17 West Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 313 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are reading this review because you are tryiqng to chose where to stay in Scarborough or the surrounding areas, then stop now and book 17 west street. We have tried so many hotels and have never been so impressed.

We visited 17 west street again, only 4 weeks after our first stay. We loved it that much that we decided to stay for New Year's Eve which was also our anniversary. We fell in love with the hotel all over again and did the same as last time, stayed longer than we planned! Andy was yet again great, so easy to get along with, and makes it feel like home from home.

We stayed in another room this time which was equally as beautiful, great soft bed sheets, docking station, wide tv and sofa. It was immaculately clean which is always a big factor.

I'm sure it won't be long until we are back again!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lusijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This place is a real gem, I booked it for a new years eve get away with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved it. From the word go we had a warm friendly welcome from Andy who took my bags and helped us out with parking. The room was immaculate, modern and stylish but comfortable and homely, complete with a bar of chocolate each.
Breakfast was equally as lovely, very warm and friendly service but with personality and charm from the lady serving us. The food was also faultless with good options and perfectly poached eggs.

All in all, the atmosphere, location, servive and value for money was great. I'd recommend No.17 to anyone wanting to visit Scarborough.

Kat and James

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kat_89_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Take Scarborough - a cherished childhood haunt - introduce a spur of the moment booking after a very rainy New Year's day stuck at home, and bring on No 17 West Street to make our visit special !
If you hanker after something a little different, then this is the place for you. A beautifully restored building with huge rooms and a careful balance achieved between the cosy and the contemporary. Clean, quiet and comfortable - the bed linen was fab and our breakfast was excellent.
What made No 17 a cut above the rest, however, was Andy and his unique ability to relate to his guests. Having become lost in the area's one way street system, my other half was grumpiness personified when we arrived. He was immediately disarmed by the offer of fudge (great start !) and a genuinely warm welcome.
We were made to feel valued as guests and yet felt as if we were among friends. Lovely chat over breakfast and plenty of good advice regarding places to see and eat. (Andy - we DID visit Bridlington on the way back - your advice was more than correct !)
We will be back and will not hesitate to recommend No. 17 to others.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a superior room,well it certainly was. it was massive,lovely decor,comfy bed ,quality furniture,spotlessly clean,good breakfast,friendly helpful owner,etc.The previous reviews are all pretty honest and i cant really add anything different.
To sum up,i have stayed in many B&Bs and not one compares to No17,it is by far the best i have ever stayed in,and i look forward to staying there again,and would have no hestiation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lufc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from this beautiful hotel after 2 nights stay. We originally planned to stay one night and the travel to whitby and find somewhere for the second night.

We were greeted by Andy and his adorable toddler Charlie. We received such a warm welcome, and were shown to our room. Andy explained that he had upgraded us to the biggest room as it was unoccupied and there was some minor work going on round the back so didn't want us looking at that.

So we were in room number 3. And all I could say was wow! The bed is ginormous and the decor is perfect. The bathroom is also huge with a lovely hot shower.

Within 10 minutes of andy leaving us to unpack, we decided we probably wouldn't find anywhere as nice as this so we booked our second night straight away. We were able to keep room 3 too which was an added bonus.

Breakfast is amazing and I cannot fault a thing. We were made to feel extremely welcome and will definitely be returning. Trust me, there is nowhere else in scarborough or whitby where you will find service like this, or rooms as gorgeous. And the best thing about it is that it doesnt break the bank. Pricing is perfect and this business will do very very well.

Thank you to numner 17 for making our weekend away perfect!

Lucy and Marc

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for one night in Room 3 which was HUGE! Very good welcome, given a door key and left to get on with it - which we love.

Massive room with very modern decoration, which is a rare find in Scarborough.

Free on-street parking no problem.

Although we were at the front of the hotel, there was very little street noise even on a Saturday night.

Lovely location in the nicest part of Scarborough above the Spa complex - 2 min walk to cliff lift down to the beach front, which was open to midnight in October.

The best cooked breakfast I've had in a long time - with great fresh coffee!

Free papers in a lounge with nice leather bucket seats.

Would tell anyone planning to stay in Scarborough to stay here! (NB: lots of steps to front door - I would not recommend to anyone for whom this may be an issue).

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the first floor and is HUGE!! Walk in shower no bath.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillaxingliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#22 of 184 in Scarborough
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#34 of 184 in Scarborough
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $70 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing