We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend break”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #33 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a trip back to west street with family this time.
Hosts absolutely great can't do enough for you, friendliness unbelievable
Great! breakfast as usual, everything the same high standard
Planning our next trip back and can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We planned a last minute break to Scarborough and booked through Expedia. The guesthouse is in a quiet location near the south cliff. We were made to feel welcome on arrival and were helped with our luggage. Our room was large, recently modernised and well presented. Our breakfast the following morning was simple but very good. Thanks Andy :0)

Room Tip: Room 3 - Large corner room with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agdzzz_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband stayed here for a couple of nights recently and after a long drive from London we were made to feel most welcome. He stayed in Room 1 , which was very large and airy , with all the usual amenities plus more. The bed linen was crisp and clean, as was the towels in the bathroom.
The breakfast was of a good standard, all fresh and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble.
If visiting Scarborough, we would recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a lovely two night stay in this small, family run hotel last weekend.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Andy & his partner. Our room was on the top floor, it was along way up, but on the plus side very quiet as no -one had to pass. The bathroom was quite small but everything was very clean, the beds were very comfortable and we would have had two good nights sleep if we hadn't had a thunder storm!!
The best part of the break in my opinion was the freshly prepared breakfast, it was so tasty, even catering for vegetarians, providing an alternative instead of a space on the plate were the bacon should be! The oven baked plum tomatoes were to die for! Well done Andy and co. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a break in Scarborough.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelass86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked this guest house for family of 5. Had an extra mattress in biggest room which suited children. Both rooms were spacious, clean and beds were very comfy. Andy & Mica create a very relaxed atmosphere and the refurbishment has been tastefully done and in keeping with the house. Breakfast was excellent and not greasey. Only 10/15 mins walk to beach an 10 mins into town. If you stay here try the Tuscany 2 restaurant good for a special meal also nearest pub is the cask Inn which is cosy and has a good choice of beer. No17 is a guest house we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Immaculate, very warm & friendly , mainly saw mom who recommended lovely place to have dinner, fantastic breakfast. It rained for virtually the entire time we were in Scarborough no 17 made it enjoyable. All in all a gem and will definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: We had a look in most of the rooms. The first floor bay window room was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Rooms clean, modern and confortable. Very efficient internet access. Very good service and advices (even late by text messages) Tanks to Andy and his wife for such a pleasant stay. I will be back there on my next business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 183 in Scarborough
502 reviews
0 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#53 of 183 in Scarborough
221 reviews
1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 183 in Scarborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 183 in Scarborough
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $120 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No. 17 West Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing