We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-visiting our youth !”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #25 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Re-visiting our youth !”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Thank you Andy , we have just returned home from a extemely relaxing break with you ,...beautiful decor and walm welcome , chilled atmosphere nothing too much trouble ..
excellent breakfast on both days, especialy local produce and sausages .. EVERYONE MUST TRY ANDYS POACHED EGGS !! Mmmmm
Bedroom large and warm , quiet, and well presented , shower piping hot , ...
would recommend anyone to stop ,....
kindest regards
paul and trisha wheeler , LIncoln .

Room Tip: we stopped in room one , lovely quiet , large ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishawheeler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    27
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
145
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A perfect location, just a 5 minute walk from the boulevard where you can get all the entertainment you can possibly wish. The guesthouse / hotel is a nice and perfectly maintained building with a host who is eager to take care of his guests. The rooms are old Victorian style and have all the luxury of a nice comfortable bedroom with seating. If you have to go there just try it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwehnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just had a weekend break at 17 West Street, and had a lovely time. We were made to feel welcome from the time of arrival and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. The room was lovely, just as described and represented super value, The Tapas and breakfast were fantastic. All staff were very friendly and professional. First time we have used this hotel, but will definitely not be the last. Already looking forward to our next break in Scarborough at 17 West Street. Thank you.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little bit more for the Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBX22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The accommodation more than lived up to our expectations, comfortable and well situated. Andy was a great host, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with plenty on offer. There was ample free parking, and it was an easy walk into town or to the South beach area. We would definitely return and recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliasdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Loved our room. Very friendly service from Andy. Made to feel very welcome from start to finish will return soon. Food was great. Location superb as well. Andy pointed us in the right direction. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast superb

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at no.17 to be close to the Olivers Mount circuit - we totally loved our stay, nothing could have been better.
Andy, family & staff are just wonderful - baby Charlie adorable and the hotel so clean and comfy. Breakfasts are delicious.
We will definitely be back next year - many thanks for making our stay so perfect.
Pam & Iain - Cheshire.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pambcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for a night whilst walking the Cleveland Way - our last stop before final morning to Filey. Originally had been quoted £80 plus VAT - relented on the VAT when we queried it. A twin room on the top floor, which was fine but had a tiny bathroom. Nice decor around the building -- the owners have obviously worked hard to modernise the place. A quiet situation, which meant we had to walk a bit to find a meal. Eventually came across the Crown Spa Hotel -- good food in superior surroundings at bar-meal prices -- highly recommended, particularly when compared to pub next door. Breakfast at 17 West Street very satisfactory. All-round good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickpFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#24 of 183 in Scarborough
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#14 of 183 in Scarborough
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#49 of 183 in Scarborough
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing