We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #29 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Once again Tripadvisor and its reviewers have come up trumps. We've just had a short stay in this very friendly, well run and interesting hotel. We agree with the (excellent) reviews posted.

We had room 3 which was very spacious with very comfotable beds, an enormous shower room and good views. Parking was easy even during busy periods.

Yes, some of the furniture is quirky but it adds character.

Breakfast was very, very nice.

As Gardeners2011 state in their review, the gulls are sometimes noisy: but this is the seaside.

It's only a short walk into town where we found an excellent Italian restaurant, Florios, again thanks to Tripadvisor, booking esssential, very popular.

Thanks to the owners and staff of No.17. Very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilex2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    27
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
145
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a lovely family and place to stay. Andy couldn't have done anything more to make our stay perfect. The room was huge and exceptionally clean and the breakfast was brilliant. Myself, my partner and our little girl were made to feel very welcome. Can highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

After being let down by another hotel our unplanned stay here rescued our weekend. From the moment the manager Andy greeted us at the door it became apparent that he couldn't do enough for us even at extremely short notice. Both rooms we stayed in (1 & 4) were spacious and nicely decorated in a 'boutique' style (no chintz in sight) with large flat screen TVs and modern bathrooms complete with excellent showers. The hotel also has a bar and a contemporary lounge area where you can relax over a few drinks as an alternative to the Scarborough nightlife. Food is available at lunch time and in the evening (Tapas menu) but we didn't try it on this occasion. We would thoroughly recommend this small and extremely friendly hotel to anyone who likes something a little different to your traditional Scarborough B&B as I am sure you will be made to feel as welcome as we were and have an extremely enjoyable stay. We have stayed at other similar hotels around the country and would say this is definitely great value for money and we will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a lovely welcome we received from Andy and his family (including Charlie who, at 4 months can give a beautiful smile!) Our room was a super size at the front of the house, spotlessly clean and very well decorated. Andy was so friendly and recommended a lovely Italian restaurant for our evening meal. The breakfast was great and free parking just outside made everything so easy. Even the weather was really good. Seagulls were noisy but then what do you expect so close to the beach! Would certainly stay here again. Thanks Andy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardeners2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights, to attend a family wedding. It was the perfect location, as it was not far from where the actual wedding was taking place. Having endured a long drive to get to Scarborough it was nice to be greeted by Andy, who was genuinely pleased to see us. He offered to come and help get the bags from the car etc.. Our room was very spacious, clean and well decorated. Cannot fault Andy or any members of his staff as they were all very friendly, helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. They all made you feel very welcome and took an interest in your plans for the day etc If we ever make it back to Scarborough would definately stay here again and would have no problems recommending No 17 to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

From the second we arrived we were made to feel welcome,room 3 is massive as is the shower room,very large bed,leather sofa bed and a nice flatscreen tv.everything is spotless,great breakfast and tapas and easy free parking.a pleasure to stay with someone who really cares about his guests,the only place we,ll stay in scarbough,thanks andy,mick and alison,barnsley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent. Having lived in Scarborough for 28 years and now moved South I needed somewhere to stay for one week due to a new grandson. A friend recommended 17, West Street. What a delightful stay. Andy was a great host, looked after me and feed me well. Enjoyed a good breakfast and the odd tipple in the bar in the evening. My room was lovely, clean and spacious with an excellent view towards the sea. His delightful wife Misha and his son Charlie made me feel very welcome also. Heres to Andy and many more stays at 17 West Street.

Room Tip: Go for Family run hotel rather than the Big Groups, you do get a better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyngardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 183 in Scarborough
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#49 of 183 in Scarborough
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Property: No. 17 West Street
Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing