We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break!”
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No. 17 West Street
Ranked #24 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a lovely welcome we received from Andy and his family (including Charlie who, at 4 months can give a beautiful smile!) Our room was a super size at the front of the house, spotlessly clean and very well decorated. Andy was so friendly and recommended a lovely Italian restaurant for our evening meal. The breakfast was great and free parking just outside made everything so easy. Even the weather was really good. Seagulls were noisy but then what do you expect so close to the beach! Would certainly stay here again. Thanks Andy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardeners2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for No. 17 West Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights, to attend a family wedding. It was the perfect location, as it was not far from where the actual wedding was taking place. Having endured a long drive to get to Scarborough it was nice to be greeted by Andy, who was genuinely pleased to see us. He offered to come and help get the bags from the car etc.. Our room was very spacious, clean and well decorated. Cannot fault Andy or any members of his staff as they were all very friendly, helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. They all made you feel very welcome and took an interest in your plans for the day etc If we ever make it back to Scarborough would definately stay here again and would have no problems recommending No 17 to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

From the second we arrived we were made to feel welcome,room 3 is massive as is the shower room,very large bed,leather sofa bed and a nice flatscreen tv.everything is spotless,great breakfast and tapas and easy free parking.a pleasure to stay with someone who really cares about his guests,the only place we,ll stay in scarbough,thanks andy,mick and alison,barnsley.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent. Having lived in Scarborough for 28 years and now moved South I needed somewhere to stay for one week due to a new grandson. A friend recommended 17, West Street. What a delightful stay. Andy was a great host, looked after me and feed me well. Enjoyed a good breakfast and the odd tipple in the bar in the evening. My room was lovely, clean and spacious with an excellent view towards the sea. His delightful wife Misha and his son Charlie made me feel very welcome also. Heres to Andy and many more stays at 17 West Street.

Room Tip: Go for Family run hotel rather than the Big Groups, you do get a better service.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyngardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We booked for three nights at 17 West Street, because it was supposed to be a luxury b & b.On arrival it was obviously a clean and nicely decorated place. Andy showed us to our room, no.9. There was no luxury. The furniture, all odd, was akin to what one would find in a junk shop. The bedside cabinets were strange having no drawer or door. merely a dummy drawer with a shelf accessible from the rear. The window was an attic dormer type. The opening window casement fastener was broken and the casement itself would not close. The dormer cheeks were glazed but had no curtain or covering, allowing the sun to shine on one bed very early in the morning.The ill-fitting room door rattled all night until I stuffed a sock into the gap. Only one of the beds had a bedside light, probably as there was no convenient power point.
At breakfast, being light eaters we requested only bacon and egg.The bacon was like over baked cardboard for the first two days, so on the last we just had eggs.
Considering that this establishment is middle to top end price b & b, Andy needs to review furniture and food quality.
As my wife and I are both qualified chefs, and in one previous business, sourced and supplied quality foodstuffs for the banqueting suite at a local stately home

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Bert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights last week and really enjoyed the break. It is a few years since we have been to Scarborough but we will be coming back to this hotel.Andy and Mica made us very welcome and nothing is much trouble for him he is always on the go, we tried his tapas which were very good and good value. The hotel is situated just right for a stroll into town and the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and large.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and found the experience very enjoyable. The property is one of the many stylish old Victorian houses located in the South Bay Esplanade district and has been renovated with a contemporary style interior whilst still retaining many of the original features. Our room located on the top floor was large and offered views on two sides towards the direction of the sea. The owner Andy is a hardworking young man who displays a really friendly disposition and is always at hand to offer help and assistance when needed. He also recommended an Italian restaurant nearby called Tuscany Too which was delightful. Breakfast was good but not with much variety to choose from and is served in a room which becomes open to the public as a cafe during the working day. For those who hate the sound of seagulls 24 hours a day should bring earplugs for an uninterrupted nights sleep. Also if you have a car, wherever you choose to park in Scarborough you will be lucky to escape being christened from above so take plenty of cleaning materials.

Room Tip: Room 7 on the top floor (3rd) is spacious and has a large bed and plenty of wardrobe space. There is...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SprogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 184 in Scarborough
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $71 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing