We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family B+B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mount House Hotel
Ranked #56 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A great family B+B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had another great family holiday staying with Robin and Liz, they are exceptionally good hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they are very attentive with the children. We had a lovely family room with plenty of space, a fantastic breakfast and a relaxing family environment. The B+B is an easy walk to town ,a nearby cricket pitch and to the beach, we will certain be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

this was our third visit to the mount house hotel and again we was not disapointed. excellent service, the breakfasts are out of this world if you enjoy a full english then this hotel is for you we will certainly be going back again very soon .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank she56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARROGATE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

When we were asked approx what time we would arrive - I said between 4pm andf 5pm, the response was "we'll have the kettle on!" Sure enough when we arrived we sat and chatted with Robin and Liz in the conservatory over tea and biscuits (a nice touch). We have stayed in Scarborough many, many times. Usually has been a different place each time, though many years ago we did stay at the Mount House Hotel, before Robin and Liz took over. My impression then was of a spacious room with plenty of easy street parking. From that point of view nothing has changed. Obviously a lot of redecoration has gone on since that time. It's a nice quiet road without seagulls screeching like too near the beach. Although we usually alternate between Scarborough, Whitby and Bridlington, I doubt if Robin and Liz have seen the back of us yet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have been going to Mount House for several years now, and have told all our friends what a great time we have, the rooms are large and clean, and the breakfasts are second to none. Robin & Liz are great hosts, and you can always be assured of a warm & friendly welcome, whether it is your first visit, or return visit. This year we took our friends and they loved it so much, we are hoping to fit another visit in before the end of the year. Thank you Robin & Liz as always we had a great time. Hope to see you soon. Gail & Phil

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Another fabulous weekend spent with Robin and Liz [ Home from home]
Warm welcome guaranteed, clean accomodation,great breakfast.Our 11th year says it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Having had a few mediocre breakfasts recently I long for the day when I will return to Scarborough and the Mount House Hotel. I have stayed here twice and the full English is simply the best. Robin and Liz are great hosts welcoming you with tea and cake/biscuits. The rooms are clean and have plenty of room and the hotel is situated in a quiet part of town away from all the noise. There is the added bonus of two real ale bars just around the corner from the hotel also.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. Haven't had a problem with either of the rooms I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRob70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently in this lovely guest house, and had a thoroughly good stay. The Victorian building was beautifully decorated, retaining many original features and was spacious with a welcoming atmosphere. Our bedroom was large and had tea making facilities and a TV, the ensuite was a good size.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice of menu, there were toasters in the Dining room so you could make your toast as you like it - great idea, no more cold toast!
We have stayed in lots of different Guest Houses, this one would be very hard to beat, thank you Robin and Liz for a lovely stay, looking forward to a return visit.
Robin & Yvonne Landen :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,640 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mountview
The Mountview
#58 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#23 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashburton House
Ashburton House
#30 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#34 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount House Hotel

Property: The Mount House Hotel
Address: 33 Trinity Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing