We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mount House Hotel
Ranked #56 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Heckington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab weekend”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Another fabulous weekend spent with Robin and Liz [ Home from home]
Warm welcome guaranteed, clean accomodation,great breakfast.Our 11th year says it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Having had a few mediocre breakfasts recently I long for the day when I will return to Scarborough and the Mount House Hotel. I have stayed here twice and the full English is simply the best. Robin and Liz are great hosts welcoming you with tea and cake/biscuits. The rooms are clean and have plenty of room and the hotel is situated in a quiet part of town away from all the noise. There is the added bonus of two real ale bars just around the corner from the hotel also.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. Haven't had a problem with either of the rooms I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRob70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently in this lovely guest house, and had a thoroughly good stay. The Victorian building was beautifully decorated, retaining many original features and was spacious with a welcoming atmosphere. Our bedroom was large and had tea making facilities and a TV, the ensuite was a good size.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice of menu, there were toasters in the Dining room so you could make your toast as you like it - great idea, no more cold toast!
We have stayed in lots of different Guest Houses, this one would be very hard to beat, thank you Robin and Liz for a lovely stay, looking forward to a return visit.
Robin & Yvonne Landen :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I would recommend this guest house if your staying in Scarborough, it is a lovely quiet spot and not far to walk to the sea front and all the hustle and bustle of scarborough. The owners are a very friendly family and welcoming and they certainly dont skimp on the home cooked breakfast. The rooms are very clean and spacious, so I will stay again next time I go to Scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Normally I never go back to the same place twice, I like different experiences, so the Mount house magic must have really worked on us because it’s the 4th time we’ve stayed.
What has drawn us back time and time again? is it the amazing welcome from Robin and Liz, the lovely clean hotel, the belly buster breakfasts or the nice, quiet location?
I think the reason we love to go back is the consistency of all the above, so if it’s just a weekend away, an anniversary (we went for ours and they made it really special) or just some time away from home to unwind, you know everything will be perfect whilst you are there.
With great restaurants and pubs nearby serving real ales and ciders and the lovely seaside location you have the perfect recipe for a relaxing break.
We're looking forward to our 5th visit.
See you again soon,
Love Wayne & Janet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hezzie2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is the first time my wife and me had been to Scarborough. It was a long awaited visit having heard so much about the town and the hotel, from our friends. We received a very warm welcome with a complimentary cup of tea and a chat with Liz in the residents lounge. Robin joined us later, a really fun character, we had been warned and weren't disappointed!
Our room was of a standard that we would expect from a very high class hotel. Well appointed and exceptionally clean with our own en suite shower room and toilet. Needless to say we slept very well in this quiet part of Scarborough.
The breakfasts set us all up for the day. The full English breakfast is not for the feint hearted and with cereals and toast will see most people through to evening.
This was our first visit, but will not be the last I'm sure of that. Well done Robin & Liz for putting together such a wonderful package.
Best regards. Roger & Sue. Huntingdon.

Room Tip: It is a three storey building so ask for a room on the lower floor if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerDacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We found this accommodation at the end if a long day traveling and both Robin and Liz made us so very welcome as we sat in the conservatory with Liz providing tea and wonderful shortbread during which we found out about points of interest in Scarborough and the general area from Robin. Rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable and breakfasts second to none. We would highly recommend anyone coming to Scarborough to stay here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillowayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mountview
The Mountview
#59 of 182 in Scarborough
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashburton House
Ashburton House
#30 of 182 in Scarborough
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#36 of 182 in Scarborough
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount House Hotel

Property: The Mount House Hotel
Address: 33 Trinity Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing