We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first stay”
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #56 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

room was spotless - superb breakfasts - friendly hosts - ideally situated for Peasholm Park and Open Air Theatre . we will return - no problems

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

Simply the best B& B we have experienced and we,ve been to many over the years.

We were part of a walking group and facilities were ideal but a great family venue also .

No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Really friendly hotel, immaculate throughout and the nicest staff ever. Food was best quality local produce and well prepared. The hotel is in a quiet location on the North Bay, easy to find and and has plenty of information of what's on offer in Scarborough. Proprietors are very helpful and friendly. Can't fault it at all. Ideal for a holiday near the beach.











scarborou

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The number of visits we have made to the Lysander says it all . Very high standards , immaculate ,good food ,great staff and ideally situated on the North Bay. No parking problems and a quiet location . We are looking forward to yet another visit in September .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Friendly hotel, immaculate, well decorated and clean, a perfect base to enjoy Scarborough North bay, with only a steady ten minute walk to the town, Peasholme park is two minutes walk away. Breakfast was perfect, with such a wide choice on the menu, excellent service, nothing was too much trouble. Perfect hotel and well worth an award of some kind, best hotel in Scarborough for one. Fantastic place to stay and can recommend to anyone wanting to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Myself and my partner booked a last minute break to Scarborough. The Lysander is easy to find. We were checked in quickly, our room was spotless. We booked a superior room and everything was great. Late check out was a bonus, breakfast is early but it was very good. All staff were lovely. Location is decent, 5minutes from Peasholm Park. V.short drive to South bay and all the restaurants. Great discounts for local restaurants. Nothing is too much trouble for Andy & Julie. This break was perfect for us as we wanted peace & quiet and to enjoy a weekend out of the city, which we successfully achieved.

Room Tip: The wifi wasn't strong enough to connect to on the top floor, but that wasn't an issue for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Excellent cleanliness, excellent breakfast, excellent service, EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoulPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
6.3 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,957 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lysander 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Jo and Jackie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing