We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B & perfect location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #52 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B & perfect location.”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We all know the North Pier is the best part of Scarborough and nestled just a street away from Peasholm Park, The Lysander couldn't be better placed. Very quiet, pristine and a warm welcome from the hosts. I stayed in a single room which had a double bed - room was immaculate, plenty space for one. Parents had superior room which was very spacious. One of our showers was a bit weak but Julie was apologetic and was laready looking into having the water pressure looked at.
Breakfast was fantastic. A huge range to choose from with warm and friendly service.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. A lovely establishment for a delightful resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
92
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but it is obvious the amount of care and detail this couple put into running and maintaining this establishment.
The location is perfect for discovering Peasholm Park and surrounding areas.
We were in a room with a double and single bed which we found a little cramped and would have prefered a king size, but really that is the only critism we could give and would definately recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Found this b+b last minute and was pleasantly surprised. The workers were very welcoming and helpful.

The room was modern and clean. Only downside was the shower pressure was not strong enough.

Breakfast was yummy- good choice of food and efficient service.

Would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I had looked at the reviews before booking here which were all good but it was even better than I had anticipated it could be. Andy and Julie the hosts gave a friendly welcome staff were fantastic and always there to help when needed. Breakfast the best I have had even at places with higher star ratings, there was a good choice on the menu too. Onto the service outstanding we were served mainly by Jess a lovely young lady who greated you with a smile of an angel such a sweet and efficient waitress nothing was too much trouble.
'Would I stay again'.. 100% yes. "A big thank you to Andy Julie and the rest of the staff for making our short stay so enjoyable"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gahamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a local hotel and this was our second function. We had a christening celebration for our first son in 2009 and there was no question of where we would have the celebration for our second son. Lovely food which is all home made and the owners Andy and Julie couldn't be more helpful. We would not hesitate to use them for any future functions or to recommend them to friends and family. And in answer to the comment about it being far from the centre that is the nature of the town, you stay near the beach you are a distance from the town and if you stay in the town you are a fair way from our lovely beaches

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsduffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is exeptionally welcoming, clean, comfortable and close to ameneties. We spent 6 nights here and could not find fault. The bedroom was lovely ( and this was not a premier room ) there were little touches which were welcome. The staff are more than accomodating, always cheerful, nothing was too much trouble. We had an exceptionable breakfast each day, the menu was varied, and Hillary treated us to a cheery smile to the start of our day. Every hotel needs a Hillary ! We would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrlyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Having found the Lysander on trip advisor we were impressed with the hotel which
can only be descrbed as spotless inside and out, the owners and staff were very accommadating and breakfast was lovely.We wouldnt hesitate in returning in the future.
Peter and family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#108 of 182 in Scarborough
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#110 of 182 in Scarborough
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunningdale Guest House
Sunningdale Guest House
#14 of 182 in Scarborough
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Property: The Lysander
Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lysander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Andy and Julie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing