We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only we could have stayed longer!!!”
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lysander
Ranked #53 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If only we could have stayed longer!!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We are touring north of England, and found this Haven on line.Only problem we were to stop 2 days in Scarborough, after a phenominal breakfast, which lasted us most of tghe day, we set out to see the sights Andy suggested. After 5 nights and still more sights we had to say goodye.But we shall be back inthe autumn for a couple of week.
Like being at home ,only better!!!!
Chris & Stuart

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stustevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
94
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This was our second short break with this wonderful couple in the last six months. Absolutely spotless hotel,excellant friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. The service and welcome is second to non,we stayed in a superior room ,which was really nice .Needless to say all rooms will be the same.On leaving had a slight issue with my car which Andy was extremely helpfull in sorting out. We would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful home from home thotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bermingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I booked hotel through laterooms.com as a suprise for my partner, their website looked brilliant.
I chose the delux room which was supposed to be alot bigger than standard, the room it was very small, there wasn't even enough room to put the bags on the floor. I asked at reception if they had made a mistake with the booking, £90pn seemed expensive for a small room with no bath? The answer I received from the manager was 'if you dont like it then you could always look for another hotel to stay in' bearing in mind I had already paid. He was extremely patronising and called me 'young lady' then started laughing at me when I walked away.
The hotel was a good location for if you were going to the open arena however it was a 20 min walk to town centre and nearest restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Don't let the popularity index number for this hotel put you off as we have just stayed 4 nights in this excellent hotel. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful and service was excellent. The rooms & the hotel are lovely & clean and the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
We could not fault this hotel and would definately recommend our family & friends to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Having just stayed for the weekend at the Lysander, I would definately recomend this hotel to friends. The reception was warm and welcoming, the breakfasts very good, and the service excellent. I think it is the cleanest Hotel we have stayed in and was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancsVintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

stayed at the lysander for a week end break. to start, room was perfect recently refurbed over the winter. breakfast , perfect . extensive menu , from a light breakfast or full monty, could not fault it at all, cleanliness at it's best, lovely clean smell,not to far from town centre a lovely walk .. will be going back.. martin

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndoeNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We have just had three days in Scarborough and really enjoyed this lovely Victorian sea side resort. The Lysander was an ideal base to discover the town and the surrounding area.
From the minute we arrived Andy and Julie the owners of the hotel made us feel at home and where there to offer advise on things to see and do.
The rooms and hotel are spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
There was a good choice of breakfast with plenty to eat and drink.
We would have no hesitation in recommending The Lysander to anyone looking far a place to stay in the Scarborough area and look forward ourselves to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#9 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#32 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#113 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#104 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunningdale Guest House
Sunningdale Guest House
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Property: The Lysander
Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lysander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Andy and Julie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing