We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed for a weekend just before christmas , we went to scarborough on chance and everywhere was booked up so we tried travelodge , they only take bookings on a one night only basis but they made arrangements over the phone which meant we could keep the room for the three nights , the room was spotless with towels that looked like we were the first ones to use them also the room had a sea view with no extra cost , the breakfast was self service and was excellent , we would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeppelinLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    554
    383
    246
    301
See reviews for
642
855
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Just back after a bargain £22 per room - we've paid far more in Scarborough for a lot less. Room was good (sea view too!) and although the window rattled to be fair it was very windy, packed it with a menu ;) problem solved and yes the floor sloped :) but we wouldn't expect perfection given the age of the building! (LOL a bit disconcerting after a couple of drinks!) Staff very friendly too, nothing was too much bother. Parking can be a problem, but it's in a very popular area so be aware. All in all, good, clean hotel and if you book early enough, a very good deal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDi1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We use this hotel for 4 days every month, as the owners of 2 hotels ourselves we can be critical if required.
This hotel is excellent value for money, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and the position in scarborough is perfect.
A number of people complain about parking but this is not a problem unique to the Travelodge, the Grand/Royal etc all have no parking and offer discounted rates at the ncp carparks to their guests to make up for this VERY MINOR inconvenience.
In our experience negative reviews are given by people who would really rather be at the 4/5 star establishments but either cannot or will not pay the rates demanded so opt for the cheaper option but expect the same sort of experience!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Just returned from St Nicholas Travelodge after a very enjoyable two night stay. The weather was excellent for December. The evening food was very good on both nights. We tried the Indian menu on our last nigh & thoroughly enjoyed it. We opted to leave the car in the NCP car park for the duration of our stay which cost £12 in total. There was plenty to see & do around the centre of town without needing the car.
Don't be put off by negative reviews. The staff were very friendly & helpful & also had time for a chat.
The rooms were clean & tidy. We will be going back again in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_at_large55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Very good basic accommodation at the price. Spartan but comfortable bedroom, adequate size for a one night stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good value breakfast. Good central location with car parking outside (if you are lucky enough to find a space, as we were)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I suspect that we were allocated a "naff" room because we booked six months in advance and got the room at a large discount, surely they can't all be of such a bad finish.

However I can only go on our impression.

We stayed in room 101, the floor wasn't level and consequently whilst the bottom of the door to the corridor reached the foor at one end, there was a gap of 2 inches at the other end. The sash window rattled all night long, the external walls were damp and the electical wiring was in upvc conduit afixed to the wall. The electrical sockets and blanking plates appeared loose and unsafe.
I live in Bridlington (18 miles away) and my wife works in scarborough, we have watched the renovation works and transformation of the old hotel building into a "new" travelodge and would have expected a much higher standard of finish.
Level floors in my opinion are a basic requirement and why use UPVC conduit for wiring, when the whole building was stripped down to a shell and refitted. It smacks of corner cutting and penny pinching.

I would not recommend this travelodge to my family, friends or work colleagues.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorkshireTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

west yorkshire
Level Contributor
202 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Scarborough Travel Lodge. We were in room 302 and we were hoping for a sea view but the view from our room was not very nice. Our room was very spacious and spotless clean so this made up for the lack of a sea view. The location of the Travel Lodge is fantastic, central to everything.
We have really enjoyed our stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolamy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing