We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhappy traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have just stayed at this Travelodge for two days wednesday til friday first night bed hard breakfast choice of oranges or grapefuit .toast butter /flora etc ok bed hard better sleeping on top of cover kept up til 3am with road works outside hotel breakfast no butter or flora asked assistant said no butter only flora no grapefruit bacon had ran out waited 10 mins for more bacon evening meal was easy enough sausage and mash with gravy and peas only people in restaurant potato made of smash rest ok we had apple pie with custard tasted like pie had just come out of freezer and was not very nice on menu its says can have as much custard as you like just ask assistant for more as there was no staff around how are you supposed to do that I know I only paid about £78 for two days but will not be returning terrible experience

Room Tip: try somewhere else first use only as last resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,497 - 1,503 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

A tired, run down embarrassment to the Travelodge chain. The exterior is grubby; the interior desperately in need of a makeover. Trying to be positive, excellent location. Parking almost impossible...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank JJICS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have stayed at the Scarborough Travelodge a few times over the last couple of years and it is in a great location. The rooms are basic but clean and are finefor an overnight stay. This travel lodge is ready for updating and beds and pillows definitely need replacing. Staff are friendly and on hand if you need extra towels, pillows etc.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2014Jandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Don't stay here! It's awful1 I'm not a serial complainer; I realise that this is no frills, budget accommodation. However, I think that a comfy bed, decent pillow and duvet are baseline expectations for a hotel. I truly have never slept in such a lumpy, hard squeaky bed! Additionally never seen such thin pillows! Just don't waste your money, pay another £20 quid and got to the Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and 2 young children in a family room for one night. There was only 1 working lift which was too small for our pushchair which wasn't great. Overall our experience was good but I was very disappointed with the breakfast we paid for. The hot food ran out quicker than it was being brought out which meant there was a huge queue. I was in the restaurant for 30 minutes before I was able to eat any hot food. By the time I got to the front of the queue the food had again all gone so I had to wait for more to be brought out. It's not worth the money and I would advise others not to bother with breakfast in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had a bad experience in this lodge a year ago, but had to stay there last week
Bedrooms are a lot cleaner
Lift still not working
Broken mirror on stairs has been removed
However went to buy a meal from cafe bar , told credit card machine was not working only accepting cash , found twelve pound to pay for burger platter , it was so hard the rolls and burgers
Could have been used as sea defences ,

Room Tip: Ask for a front room , there are a lot of stairs to this lodge beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, the room was basic but very nice, staff were very helpful, really there is nothing to complain about, you can't expect a 5 star experience in a £25 per room per night hotel. If you only want a short stay basic room I would defiantly recommend. Only downside is the drinks at the bar were expensive. Gets a thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $51 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and bedfinder AG so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing