We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont do it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Checked in....

Room was dirty - poo in toilet, stains on the walls etc.

Was there for a meeting, so when down - could not find any staff - even after pressing the button and waiting... walking around and not one member of staff - so went to meeting.

Arrived back at 6pm, and to my shock... same thing - no one member of staff around to ask about a new room... when walking around I even found the kitchen, still no staff!!!

I walked out and went over the road to the Grand and got what I paid for... clean room, great shower and staff!!!!

Travelodge wont even give my money back!

Room Tip: Dont go... stay in the Grand for the same price without the poo
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We are really sorry to learn of the issues you have raised World T. Our housekeeping team follow a strict cleaning routine and we would always expect our customers to be allocated a clean room when they check in. It is also regrettable to learn that the reception desk was unmanned and our staff were unable to resolve your concerns whilst you were present at the hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns so we would very much appreciate if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details. Please also indicate that you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    556
    383
    246
    302
See reviews for
644
857
55
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The rooms were bare and cold. bathroom door right at side of bed and the smell of sewerage first thing in the morning. Radiator next to bed! woke up with sore throat next morning. bed was nearly on the floor it was that low. Pillows were completely flat I had to use 3 to get some comfort, which again was minimal. My friend slept in the single bed which had no headboard and her pillows kept falling down the back all night. Plain cold room. Never again I'm afraid :(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lorri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We are really sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our hotel Scarborough St. Nicholas, Lorri07. All our heaters are turned off prior to your arrival to reduce our impact on climate change, however they should be in a good working order. We do offer spare blankets and duvets on a first come first serve basis at reception. Our cleaning staff are also expected to routinely check all our rooms and to notice any smells. We will air out the affected room thoroughly and notify the Hotel Manager if necessary. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Having read previous reviews it's interesting to see that the same issues were present with the room we stayed in way back in October. We booked the room for a reasonable price and were expecting a standard travelodge room. Clean, tidy and for once plenty of towels! However the room was rather large and the lack of furniture made it feel empty and cold. We had 2 duvets on the bed and had the small heater on all night which made the room just about bearable. We would return safe in the knowledge that you get what you pay for, the best part of this is its proximity to town and the sea front. If you do decide to go park in the underground car park on sea front, it's only £6 for 24 hours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maddy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My mum and myself have just returned from a 4 night stay at the st Nicholas Travelodge and couldn't fault it at all, easy access to the rooms, brilliant sea view with double glazing windows, room was warm with the option of having 3 heaters on if we wished, it had tea and coffee making facilities, the bathroom was an amazing size with a bath and a shower. The staff were very helpful especially Jordan the young barman. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels, the tea and coffee was replenished and the bed made. And the hotel itself is in an amazing location 5 minute walk to either the town or the seafront so all in all great value for money and we will definitely be returning. Thank You Travelodge for making our stay so special

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor front facing have an amazing seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The travelodge is in an ideal location for visiting the beach and seafront arcades. It is also close to the shops and Brunswick shopping centre. It has a very modern feel in the lobby area and the bar and is a relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are slightly dusty and we had to ask for extra pillows as only one per person is provided. Towels could be better too. Very noisy from guests in the hotel moving around and shouting on upper floors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay, including breakfast.. The hotel was clean, no unpleasant smells, room warm with lovely shower. Lovely sea view and great location. The staff are very friendly. Will definitely book again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel location was brilliant for what we wanted. Got to our room it smelled bad and it was freezing. We thought maybe later that evening it would warm up with the radiators. We went out and when we came back in the room you could see your breath in so we reported it and were given a little heater to plug in to take the chill out of the air. That was bad enough but then we found out our toliet didnt flush properly and kept blocking so eventually we got rooms changed.
Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review Joanne R. Our housekeeping staff are expected to notice any unpleasant smells in a room and we would have expected your room to be aired our thoroughly before your arrival. Our heaters are expected to be fully functional so it is regrettable to learn this was not the case, we can confirm that we do have a number of spare blankets and duvets at reception should you need them. We would also require our bathroom facilities to be in good working order so we are truly sorry you were allocated a room with broken items. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing