We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mandy, yorkshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Pontefract,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“mandy, yorkshire”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

booked for three nights, we were very happy with are room, we were on the third floor.only thing i would say is a set of drawers in the room would be nice, there was lots of room, it was clean, plenty of clean towels,the breakfast was good, plenty of cereals , nice help yourself cooked breakfast,would recommend, we had a nice view of the sea from are room too, its so easy for going down to the beach, and also to the town, we were all comfy in the beds too,

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor, we were happy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galaxyPontefract_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    579
    391
    254
    310
See reviews for
667
884
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked in for one night. Had stayed here about four years ago, and it was not too bad, but this time it was horrible. Our room was so small and tatty, with a horrible smell in the room. The bathroom was so small I had to walk backwards to the toilet because there was no room to turn round to use it. Went to the bar at about nine to be told that the lager was having its pipes cleaned, and would take about half an hour before we could have a drink. Breakfast the following morning was diabolical. All the tables were piled with dirty pots and refuse. No milk for the tea/coffee. All the cooked food (powdered scrambled egg, sausage, bacon, beans and tomato) was stone cold and inedible. Where were the fried eggs hash browns and mushrooms? All in all a waste of money. We love Scarborough, but will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked this hotel at 58 pounds on a bank holiday weekend. The other hotels in the area were at least double this price. It was pretty apparent that the hotel wasnt going to be 5 star luxury but to be honest, you get what you pay for. Our room was on the third floor. It was clean, and basic...just what we expected. The tv worked, we had running water, clean sheets and a safe, comfortable place to sleep. If you're wanting 5 star luxury, you are going to have to dig deeper but if you just want a cheap place to rest your head in an excellent location, this could be the place for you. And yes the seagulls are noisy and messy but come on...this is Scarborough....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredTeacher1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Not enough pillows to have one each. No shower curtain so a very wet bathroom floor and a trail of towels to enable you to carry on using the bathroom. A talking lift right outside the room so we knew which floor and direction it was going in until the early hours. Breakfast was poor the price was great but only if they actually had everything. A busy previous day seemed to have cleared them out of stock. Who eats that much in a day? Great location, lovely old building. No day time parking but free overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Myself, partner and child stayed for one night( thankfully) on Monday 27th August. The first thing we noticed was that there were only two pillows between the three of us. We asked twice at reception for another, and were promised one would be sent. At 10pm on the third enquiry we were told they didn't have any. With this in mind I decided that to ask for a shower curtain would be just pointless. Our rail had been torn from the ceiling, possibly in a Norman Bates style stabbing frenzy, I don't know. The management were taking no chances though, and hadn't replaced it. Undeterred, I enjoyed a hot powerful shower, and the half inch of water covered the floor all night. luckily towels weren't as rare as pillows, so I made a path to the toilet with these. we then settled down in the noisiest room I have ever known. We were about six inches from the stairwell doors, and three feet from the talking lift, that cheerfully shouted its direction of travel through our door all night.
after the disastrous night I had set my expectations for breakfast fairly low, and sadly I was proved right. apparently there had been a bit of a run on breakfasts( who could have foreseen that?). this meant no hash browns, butter, mushrooms , orange juice, yoghurt or croissants.All you can eat?
My partner complained on departure, and we were promised £30 credit to try another lucky dip Travelodge, but so far this hasn't arrived.

Room Tip: NOT room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we stayed sunday and monday 18&19 august. Strange damp smell throughout the hotel Staff were excellent though. The family room was ok but the matresses were very uncomfortable. Sea view was great but the seagulls are a nightmare, not that the hotel can control this, maybe scarborough borough council need to cull the seagulls? overall for what we paid it was ok but the hotel could do with updating and the rooms could do with airing. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff were professional and helpful, you cant blame the staff for the hotel.

Room Tip: dont have a room at the front if you cant bear the noise of seagulls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazb1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in july for 1 wk prior to arrival we emailed to request sea view room seeing as we stayed for a wk. We knew it would be basic but we werent bothered about that we just wanted a nice view and somewhere to sleep. Checked in quickly and found our room fairly easily on walking in we found no sea view just views of other rooms and a roof. The room was plenty big enough for the 3 adults and 1 teenager staying plus our luggage. We went out came back bout 9pm room was stiffiling hot windows opened no more than couple of inches and with 4 people it was unbearably hot then the seagulls started got up to close window but it was too hot so spent rest of night hot and listening to seagull chorus. We asked for room change but they said they were full,asked for a fan on 2 separate occasions but they were all out.
Breakfast was a free for all gather all your own pots cos no tables were set after the 1st morning and I wouldnt bother with the breakfast had I not paid in advance for the whole wk.
Last night of hol fire alarm went off we all got dressed and went down to be told that we could go back up again. Get undressed for alarm to go off again luckily it stopped before we got dressed.
This was going to be a yearly hol but after a week of very little sleep due to heat and seagulls we were put off for life.
I understand that travelodge are upgrading the rooms here they really need to think about the heat and either provide fans in every room or windows that open wider

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.4 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Property: Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing