We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good - get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is very basic and in need of urgent refurbishment. The family room was tired, the corridor outside our room smelt awful - like a dirty back alley in a town centre on a Saturday night. What surprised us is that dogs are allowed to stop along with their owners in the hotel - as we found out when the couple came out from the next room with their Staffordshire bull terrier in tow. What's a shame is that the location is good for Scarborough town centre, the front, beach etc. but our best advice is to spend a little bit more and stop at the Premier Travel Inn two minutes away.

Room Tip: Don't book a room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,113)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,678 - 1,684 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

After having a bad hotel experience already this day, we hurried to the travelodge feeling very cold and tired. We asked for a nice warm cosy room. However, the only request they got right was warm. On entering the room we were disgusted to find the toliet had not even been flushed! The walls were filthy along with the whole appearance of the bathroom. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. There was also a very foul smell in the corridors. Needless to say we will not be returning!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Room was very basic. Not great at all, parts of the wall falling off. There was a needle and cotton in the curtains.

The bathroom was adequate but the toilet seat was loose. My daughter enjoyed herself though so that added a star.

The food was very poor one of the worst breakfasts I have had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Booked to stay here on 1st of December. It was freezing. We had two rooms, one on the 1st floor and one on the 4th. The one on the 1st was literally like a fridge, there was NO heating on that floor at all. Our friend could not stay in there all night. Neither could she stay with us, there were no other hotels with vacant rooms nearby so we had no choice but to come home to Leeds!
So many people were complaining. We cancelled our rooms as we literally had no choice but to leave and were promised a refund but no, not a peep, not a sausage.
You cant contact Travelodge direct on the phone (I wonder why). Email or writing is the only method as the instant chat does not work EVER. I had done both, TWICE, and thats right, not a sausage has been heard.
DO NOT STAY IN THIS 1980s Eastern block style hotel that is a fire hazard in itself with the corridors and room numbers that really do not make any sense!! One very nasty 'hotel' indeed, I think the term 'hostel' is over egging it!

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms. If you do happen to stay there book a family room (for the same price) as t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

You get what you pay for. Plain no expense spared basic room. The heating needs attention as the central heating system isn't on and our room had its own electric heater that was set to full but switched off at intervals. We wer cold so had to go to reception to ask for a blanket. They don't have blankets but brought to our room another duvet and ectra pillow that we had asked for. No complaints there. Breakfast was a problem As we had an event to go to for 9.00 am we arrived for breakfast at 8.05 am to find only bacon adn srambled eggs ready. The chef was running late I was told. Not good enough I thought, if breakfast starts at 8.00 then all items of food should be ready and avialable at 8.00. Between 8.10 and 8.20 other hot items were brought to the buffett. Had this been any later I would have asked for a refund. We only stayed for one night so it sufficed our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at this travelodge 2 years ago and was very pleased. This time I was very disappointed. Some staff at the front desk were very unwelcoming, she didn't explain anything to us and she only smiled when we left. The front foyer looks good but then you go behind the doors into the hallways and rooms and it looks awful. Everything seems tatty and there is a big patch of mould on the wall. The toilet was blocked on arrival and the bed was so hard. The bin was broken and the room was so small and dingy. There was hardly any light in the room. The breakfast wasn't up to standard, We were waiting about 10 minutes for the cooked breakfast to come, then there was no mushrooms or tomatoes. The juice was watered down. I'm glad me and my family only had to stay 1 night. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozza_110390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

On entering the establishment, it was like any other Travelodge. Clean, welcoming and functional. But on discovering our room, we were in for a surprise. The first thing we noticed was the strong smell of damp. We ended up buying a room freshener. The view was wonderful and nature had done it's best to impress. The room again was sparse and bland. I'm not stupid and do realise that we were not paying full whack, but seriously Travelodge, make a bit more effort. My wife had booked the room and Had requested one with a bath, as, at the time , she was suffering from a bad back. We got a shower. We asked to be moved the following day to a room with a bath, as we were staying for three nights, and the staff were very helpful. Also the first room we stayed in had an awful smell of almost sewage like proportions when running water down the basin. I could go on at more length, but needless to say, the hotel needs some serious money spent on it. You should be ashamed of yourselves Travelodge and grateful that your staff put up with such thirdworld conditions. The staff were the only endearing element of our stay. Oh yes, and finally the lift was out of order the whole time we were there. So god knows what the elderly and disabled did.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davies1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $50 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing