We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lets face it Travelodge are budget hotels so if your expecting 5* forget it but the price&location is very good, the room although a little tired was fine a & good size with lovely sea views and comfortable, the staff helpful and room warm&serviced everyday. The downside is the parking if you get a park its expensive and the parking attendants are predatory so be warned, the water could have done with being a little hotter and one of the lifts were out of order..but all things considered we would definietly go back and had a very pleasant 3nights stay.

Room Tip: Sea views are nice but the front of the hotel is more noisy than the back as the windows are single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,729 - 1,735 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as my sister got married at nearby Ox Pasture. Excellent location but that's as far as it goes. We had booked 2 nights in a saver family room but only ended up staying for 1 night. Reception area was nice and in stark contrast to the rooms. The room was sooo dated and old, i really didn't like it. There were patches of wet along the wall next to the window. The shower was rubbish & the cold tap was broken. Luckily it was the right temperature with only the hot tap on. No hairdryer, only 1 pillow each & they were really flat. The sofa bed wasn't a normal pull out one, it wasn't already set out so we had to work it out - but couldn't lol.. There was a matress under it which was unattached so we jus put together a makeshift bed :/ lighting was poor, really dull in the room. No room phone & we were on the 4th floor so if we needed anything we'd have to go all the way down to reception. The lift & corridors are the smallest & tightest ever. Only 3 people can fit in the lift at once. Carparking is limited outside & it's pay and display until 6pm and after 9am. The main reason why we didn't stay for the 2nd night was because of the bed being extremely uncomfortable - we woke up aching all over & i'm not exaggerating here! The photos that i've adde make the place look a lot better than reality. 2 nights cost £51 for non refundable option. i've spent similar in other hotels, which have been really nice but i wish now that i'd spent more to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Z86

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked in here as I was visiting friends in scarbro'. Booked in for 3nights at an amazing £29 a night for the 2 of us. We had a great view of the sea and Grand Hotel opposite, the room was clean and a good size and the electric heaters very efficient. It was cold and foggy weather so the extra heat was much appreciated. One of the lifts wasn't working but the other was. I liked the anonimity of the place, you didnt feel awkward if you wanted to stay in your room all day. Ideally located for all amenities- only downside is the parking situation but if youre prepared to pay then I'd recommend the palm court close by, quite secure overnight. Overall good value. Weather awful though!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniepanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

went there with a friend a couple of months ago, very very basic, but i guess for what a paid i wasent going to get much. probaly no go back, didnt get much sleep. also i agree with what other people have been saying its very hard to find your room and its not very well labled. but apart from that scarborough is a lovely place on the beautiful seaside!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Jeseph R

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I booked into this hotel for a) his birthday and b) because we could take the dog. Hotel reception was light and inviting. Hotel receptionist was lovely. We booked in for a family room. The room was quite large (in comparison to a family room in a Premier Inn). We paid £131 for two nights which included the dog. Maybe because of this we got a nice room? View not great but we weren't there to sit in the room and stare out of the window. Bathroom had overhead shower and a bath. As others have said there were no bedside tables but to be honest we only wanted to put our glasses and mobiles down and there were space for both of these underneath the lights. Everything worked in the room just fine. As others have said there were only two towels and no toiletries which annoyed me a bit. If I were being VERY VERY picky there was a tiny tiny bit of black mould in the bathroom and a very small amount of damp in the corner of the ceiling - and I mean very small. We didn't eat at the hotel so couldn't comment on the food. The bar area looked lovely though but we didn't have a drink there either so can't comment on that. Hotel is in a great location. I would imagine those with rooms at the front got a great view of the sea. Parking in the NCP about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel was fine for us. Just as a note our room was 413.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cazonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We pre booked at a cost of £65 for a one night stay. ( Anymore and i would have checked out the next morning for alternative accommodation!) the check in was swift and fortunately the receptionist had written our room number down when she handed over the room card cos trying to find the room was a challenge. On exiting the lift there was nothing to indicate our room number on the 'sign'. So up and down the corridors we went i had to show my husband the piece of paper with the room number written on after he got so frustrated I think he thought I'd got it wrong so the signs are very lacking. We eventually located the room it was very very basic but surprisingly large. There was a radiator that was stone cold that explained the electric heater, glad it was provided as room was very cold!! The bathroom very basic but had all you require if you both want to share the towel that is. Why when they know they have two people booked into the room do they only provide 1 towel. There was 1 dbl socket in the whole of the room. And 1 mirror by the door. No where near the socket so no design or thought behind room planning for ladies trying to style their hair. I had to trail my straighteners under the bathroom door. Yes a minor point but rather annoying. The location of the hotel is good however parking not great. We parked over night at the palm court at a cost of £10 for 24hrs. Now the bed. Oh dear. Have any of the Travelodge chief exec's tried to sleep in one of their beds with their partners. Maybe they should. You don't expect luxury but the bed was dreadful. Soooo uncomfortable I managed about 1 hours sleep. It was too hard. Maybe ok for the young " couples" that book in in the early hours and get a room for half what we paid but if sleep is what you want you may struggle. Yes you get a room and a bed. Do Travleodge promise any more?? No. But for what you pay I think you can get better value for money. This is my first ever review on anywhere I have stayed because I was very disappointed. We only wanted one night stay and I think this is how they get their custom as most hotels/b&b's request a min of 2 nights. However the hotel is way overdue for a refurb it seems like it was thrown together on a shoestring as decor and furnishing very cheap especially the bed!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 123wjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Arrived checked in no problem. Given room directly opposite a talking lift so asked for a different room.
Next room small and freezing cold no double glazing and draughty. Only heating from a free standing electric heater which had one leg missing and the other one loose and only socket at desk so heater would have been jammed in a corner and dangerous.
Back down through the rabbit warren to reception now feeling most unhappy.
Waited while another guest demanded new pillows for her second room stating the first one was disgusting.
Realising that things are not good try a third room. This one has at least got wall mounted heaters and double glazed windows, but no bath just a shower. Husband sent back down to reception as only one set of towels.....why do travelodge do this when two people are booked into a room?
He returns and while I have a shower hunts for the remote control for the TV...yes you have guessed no remote. Back downstairs where the poor soul at reception flinches as he approaches.
Hubbie returns to room with a remote with no back on and batteries in back to front. Still doesn't work! Luckily I am making a cup of coffee to calm us down and oh yes one of the cups has a huge chip in it...into the bathroom to rinse it out so he can take both remote and cup back to reception and notice that the light and shaving point above the washbasin has no pull cord. The lighting in the bedroom was so poor I would recommend future guests use a head torch, though the dim light levels do hide the wine stains on the walls and ceiling......presumably the cleaning staff can use this as an excuse for failing to wipe them away.
Bar area clean with friendly staff and good prices on wine. Considered that at least the bed was clean and comfortable and slept well.....until woken by person trying to get int the room opposite knocking and shouting to his friend Dave that he had locked the door. After about 5minutes heard him slump to the floor in the corridor, then around 5 minutes later started again rattling key card in door the eventually getting in.
What made it worse was walking round the corner from this dosshouse to find a sparkling premier inn.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenrotherwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear fenrotherwitch

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $48 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing