We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrived as strangers left as friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Michael's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrived as strangers left as friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was our second visit to St Michaels , Everything about this guest house is excellent. Ed and Jan are the friendliest couple you could meet and nothing is too much trouble, it's the little touches that make Ed and Jan and St Michaels the best, like a birthday card and chocolates on your birthday and booking a table and a taxi for our night out.The rooms are immaculate and spotless breakfast the best we have experienced. Recently we experienced the other end of the spectrum which reiterated how excellent St Michaels is .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
It is always rewarding for us when our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thankyou for your great review and we look forward to seeing you both soon. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
221
390
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Jan and Ed are such brilliant and genuine hosts. We arrived bedraggled due to a heavy shower and they were kind enough to dry our clothes. We shared a cuppa and a friendly chat together too. The room was spotless and so comfortable, the little extras like cartons of orange juice and biscuits and chocolates as well as tea and coffee, were lovely. Breakfast is huge, delicious and never a rushed affair. Believe everything good you read cos it's true. You will want to return, I promise. Thanks for a lovely stay, Jan and Ed and hugs to you both. Mel, Seb and Anya X

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireflywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are so pleased you and your family had a great stay with us at St Michael's and thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just got home from a two night stay, booked this guest house based on the trip advisor reviews and was sceptical if it would be as good as they said for the price. Having stayed there I can say that the reviews were entirely true, probably the best B&B I've stayed in, Jan and Ed made it a home from home, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are clean and well presented, lots of little extras that make it special. Make sure that you take comfortable clothes as the cooked breakfasts are absolutely wonderful, no need to eat again until the evening meal, had to stay out late so I had room for fish and chips on the sea front!

I would definitely recommend to family and friends and will certainly be booking another stay. If you are thinking about it - just do it!

Room Tip: Noise from the seagulls but apparently they move on in September and will be everywhere in Scarborou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are thrilled to read your positive review and are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast !!! hopefully we will see you again when you next visit Scarborough . Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Regarding Ed's singing in the last review lol yep he could do with some lessons :-) no but being honest here. Jan and Ed are a lovely warming caring couple. They make you feel at home and your stay is definitely their pleasure! The hotel is superbly clean and all the rooms are to a very high standard. In my opinion you will not find a better guest house in Scarborough. The breakfast is huge and and there is a vast selection of fresh fruit and strawberries, yoghurts and croissants as well as cereal. All in all a superb guest house. The best in mine and many others opinion. Jan and Ed are the best no competition!

Thank you so much for making my stay with you so welcoming guys!! :-) note to Ed here..marching on together. Lufc forever! You know it makes sense lol

See you very soon!

Grant xx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
What can we say but its always our pleasure to see you and we really do appreciate all your lovely comments, thankyou it means a lot. Will try and get Ed singing lessons !!! looking forward to seeing you again this year, let the football banter begin !!! Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Jan and Ed made us feel welcome once again, room very clean , breakfast is the best I've had anywhere but Ed does need singing lessons whilst cooking breakfast haha!
Both Jan and Ed can't do enough for guests they are very professional in a friendly manor. We have stayed before and whilst there this weekend we have also booked again, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Scarborough .
Thanks again for making us very welcome see you again soon.
Paul and Helen

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
It was great to see you both again and catch up. Apologies for Ed's singing its part of the experience !!!! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your great feedback , look forward to seeing you next year. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

What can I say,this b&b is amazing,I'm even writing this review while still here as it's just brilliant. I was welcomed in such a friendly manor by Jan, and ed came to the car to carry our case and took it to our room,we were offered a drink straight away while checking in.our room was beautiful,so clean and such lovely touches with a mint on my towel and a freedo chocolate on my daughters. The breakfast is huge!felt bad I couldn't finish it but so well cooked,then load's off fresh fruit,yogurts,breakfast bars,yogurts for children,fruit sweets for the kids,even children cups and plates. Honestly this place is so wonderful,Jan and ed are brilliant hosts and can't thank them enough for our lovely stay.we will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hstarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thankyou for your lovely comments. We hope to see you both again next year. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My friend was visiting from Istanbul for a couple of weeks, and I thought it'd be great to have a short break in Scarborough so that we could see the Yorks Coast. I was delighted to find a couple of nights' vacancy with Jan and Ed. I have stayed with them several times in the past. As on all previous occasions, everything was just perfect! Jan and Ed offer a service and welcome that are second to none....and all this at such a fair and reasonable price! Other reviewers have written so much praise about St Michael's, so it just remains for me to re-echo all those excellent comments!!
Well done Jan and Ed. Keep up the good work, and I hope you have a wonderful 2014 season.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
It was lovely to see you again and meet your friend. We do enjoy seeing our guests return and we appreciate all your encouraging, positive comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time you visit Scarborough. Ed and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing