We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having stopped in b & bs in Scarborough before, this was our first time at St Michaels and at long last we have found the best. Jan and Ed was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The Breakfast was the Biggest we have ever seen and was cooked to perfection ( Still full up ). We stayed in room 7 it was very clean with lovely deco, hope to visit again soon Thanks again Jan and Ed From Lilian and Richard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickySmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Manager at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

It was lovely to meet you both and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and Room 7 with the butterflies decor. We hope to see you both again soon , many thanks for your lovely comments, much appreciated. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 973 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from st
Michaels and it was the best B and B we have ever stayed in! Jan and ed are the perfect hosts. Always welcoming , breakfast was amazing! Our room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed with nice little touches
We shall be back!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sarahemma34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

It was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and Scarborough and Whitby. Thankyou for your lovely comments and hope you visit us again soon. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

i can honestly say i have never stayed in such a friendly guest house.
the service is second to none and the hosts jan and ed,are two of the most down to earth friiendly people i have ever met in my entire life .we got married the day before we went and they surprised us with a card chocolates and bottle of plonk,lovely touch ,made my day ,its absolutely spotless the food is superb with ed's breakfast a huge plateful,thank you so much ed and jan for making our stay so special you have now got 2 more friends for life god bless you both.
i will definetly be going again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are so glad you decided to spend your honeymoon at St Michael's, really enjoyed meeting you both and we wish you well in your married life. Thanks for all the great feedback it makes our hard work so rewarding. Hope to see you both again soon. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent one night here but was made to feel like friends by the excellent hosts .Spotlessly clean everywhere. Rooms are lovely and breakfast a real treat with plenty of choice Ed and Jan could not do enough for us and we will certainly stay here again. Best B&B we have ever stayed in. Many thanks to you both
Colin and Jill Poole

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at St Michaels Guest House. We can't remember ever staying in a B & B that comes any where close to perfection that this accommodation is. Ed and Jan treat you like family, nothing is too much trouble for them. They are a happy family which shows in the way you are made to feel. There is nothing more that I can say that hasn't been said before. After having Ed's breakfast which is the best there is, no where else can compete with it.The house is spotlessly clean, This accommodation is excellent, as are Jan & Ed. Well deserving of the top reviews given.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverlady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

It is always rewarding to hear when we have exceeded our guests expectations, We really appreciate your positive review and thank you so much for your kind words. If your travels bring you back to Scarborough be sure to let us know. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thank you Jan and Ed for our third lovely stay you deserve the number 1 ranking as you are simply the best at everything you do from the friendly welcome to the goodbye hug. If you are wondering whether to stay here you must give it a go and I can guarantee you won`t be disappointed. Rooms are spotless, breakfast amazing, Jan and Ed are superb hosts who make you feel like part of the family hope to see you both soon Jane and Charlotte

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellabingbong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Its always lovely to see you both and we really appreciate your lovely comments and we are glad you all had a good time, shame about the weather. Hope to see you again soon. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and I have stayed in many guest houses over the years,but this is without doubt the very best. Jan and Ed are very friendly and make you feel so welcome.The room and decor throughout is excellent and everywhere is spotlessly clean.As for the breakfast it was the biggest and best ever.Would highly recommend this guest house if you are visiting the area. We will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Owner at St Michael's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are are thrilled to read your positive review of St Michael's and that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. We hope to see you again soon. Ed and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
306 reviews
0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $75 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house offering clean, comfortable, high quality guest rooms and breakfast. Each guestroom having it's own private toilet/ shower room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing