We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding !!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently booked here via Booking.com at short notice for an overnight stay to celebrate a birthday. After wading through endless lists of B&B's all claiming to have something special we decided to turn to Tripadvisor for advice and so booked St Michael's Guest House. From being greeted at the door by Jan, welcoming us by first names and the offer of a coffee... to leaving the next day after a very leisurely breakfast and chat with Ed and Jan, we were made to feel part of the family!
The En-suite double had everything anyone would need, plentiful supplies of toiletries, towels and tea, coffee and hot chocolate, lovely biscuits....and the special touch of a chocolate each. The room was clean, well maintained, with flat screen TV and even an alarm clock/ipod docking station, wifi was available free and worked well. When asked about what we wanted for breakfast the next morning, we decided to treat ourselves to the full English but asked for the small portion.....if what we got was small would hate to see the big version....IT WAS MASSIVE! All well cooked and well presented, with plenty of orange juice, coffee and toast, we just couldn't eat anything else all day.
Could not fault anything with this establishment, truly outstanding experience and we definitely will be staying with Ed and Jan again when we visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stork789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
229
419
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As soon as we arrived at St Michael's we were made to feel at home. Jan and Ed were welcoming, kind, genuine and very lovely people. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and clearly reflected their high standards. Breakfast was outstanding (probably the largest but most delicious English Breakfast we've both ever experienced). Nothing was too much trouble and they made sure our 2 year old was kept happy and content. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on our next return to Scarborough. Thank you so much for making our stay so lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is by far the best Guest House we have stayed at. We stayed at St Michael's from the 10th of June until the 12th and everything about the Guest House was perfect, from the welcome we received from Jan and Ed to the orange juice and sweets which were provided in our room every day for out 18 month old daughter. Both Ed and Jan were excellent with our daughter and even allowed her to watch T.V. in their lounge one morning. Perfect B&B and perfect owners (p.s. the breakfasts are amazing and deserve FIVE stars on their own).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Foulks have no fear of staying here,Soon as you walk through the door Its like your part of the family.Ed and Jan have the gift to make you feel welcome which you dont allways get elsewhere....Very clean good location and a breakfast to put the top hotels to shame

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rampantred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

stayed with ED and JAN on 12th and 13th june 2013. After introductions we were offered tea or coffee, and sat chatting for 10 mins. could not fault anything.JAN and ED have very high standards.(AND IT SHOWS. SO CLEAN) and the little extra touches in your room,coffee tea even hot choc and biscuits replenished daily. and the chocolates ooh. harry never got to taste as I arrived in room before him each day haha. asked for small breakfast. when it arrived thought they had made a mistake. could hardly see the plate.and it was all hot.pot of coffee each. jug of juice .well need I go on.ONE other important thing we must add is.You arrive as a guest but definitely leave as friends. SEE YA SOON JAN AND ED KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
HARRY AND LIZ D.. XX

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hizzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Couple in early sixties visited again and can confirm that standards have been maintained and even improved on "First Class". Jewel in the Crown of East Coast Guest Houses.
Tremendous breakfast with Jan and Ed there to look after the property and their guests.

Room Tip: Enquire of Jan and Ed to explain your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This Guest House is the best I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. from the moment you arrive to the time you have to leave, Ed and Jan made your sty First Class and Perfect. The rooms are delightful and the Breakfast has to be seen to be believed. No need to look anywhere else in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#7 of 182 in Scarborough
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 182 in Scarborough
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing