We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“another fantastic break”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place just beats the rest hands down. The hosts are warm and welcoming. You will not find a cleaner or friendlier place to stay than St Michaels. Eds breakfasts fill you for the day and give you a challenge to clear the plate. We cant wait to visit again ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
229
419
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely breakfast and so much of it! very friendly and helpful hosts. Good sized, clean room. Only small issue - parking not always available on the street outside - ok if you haven't got loads of luggage etc. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull,e,yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

30/10/2012,2,night's at Ed and Jan's,thanks for a great stay,perfect host's,great location,Nr the park north bay,Had a good walk from the top end of nth bay to the far end of the south bay,beaches still look great, lovely Yorkshire size breakfast or anything you want just ask!,Tram to the beach still running The little Cafe at the top of the Tram's good value for drinks and buttie's if we're in Scarborough again looking for a b&b,we'll be back!,thanks John & Lesley, from Hull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjohnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Ed & jan are such amazing hosts.
me & my mate was workin in scarborough for a week. We stayed at their guest house. I am deffinetly going to come back & bring my wife & 3 children. Ed makes such tremendous breakfasts (if u can eat it, then well done). The two of tem are very welcoming.

Will

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19will99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at St Michael’s and had a wonderful experience. Our hosts, Ed and Jan, were welcoming and informative. Our en-suite twin room was beautifully decorated, very clean and with all the necessary amenities. I’ve stayed at places in the past where there was something not quite working or something missing – it was not the case here. Our room was the right sized and layout and I felt that Ed and Jan had really thought about the little details that would make their guests feel welcome and at home. Breakfast included cereal, fruit and a large full English breakfast. The full English was so big that we had to ask for a smaller portion the next day.

The guesthouse is about 10 minutes’ walk to the North Bay beach. We had a wonderful time walking along the North Bay, up to the Scarborough castle, and down to the South Bay. There are restaurants close by including Jeremy’s, Haz (Turkish) and Tikka Tikka (Indian on Dean Road). Scarborough is a lovely place to visit with friends or even by yourself. I understand the guesthouse also has a single room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night on our drive through Yorkshire, and found St. Michael's a comfortable respite. Jan and Ed were perfect hosts, the room was comfortable, the breakfast enormous. Couldn't have found a better play to land and plan to return on my next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The breakfast is enormous - a true challenge (that we duly rose to), but it is outdone by the friendliness of the welcome. It must be difficult to stay so positive when people invade your home with their wants and ways but it's all the same to this lovely couple. They seem to genuinely enjoy their work.
The location is good for the (far preferable) north bay and the cricket ground.
If I had to moan I would say that Columbus Ravine remains noisy with traffic throughout the night and it would be nice to get a carafe of real coffee with breakfast but, at the price, these comments seem churlish and I feel almost guilty bringing them up.
Book with confidence.

Room Tip: If you sleep with the window open, it might be quieter at the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michaelandjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#7 of 182 in Scarborough
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 182 in Scarborough
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing