We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartily recommend this B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Jan and Ed are fantastic, really friendly hosts, always helpful and full of useful advice. The rooms are very well kept, really clean and look lovely. The breakfast is cooked perfectly (runny yolks every time, with huge portions!). After a 2 night stay trying to leave felt like we were leaving a second home! Our 4 yr old is still asking to go back to see Jan and Ed again :) We will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for St Michael's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 951 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband 2 daughters and myself stayed here for 2 nights on Mon 20th Aug.
On arrival Jan and Ed were very welcoming making us a hot drink and issuing us with a parking permit.
Without repeating exactly what others have said re bedroom and breakfast which is the same lovely comments I shall add what made our stay lovely.
-cutlery and bowls/beakers for our 2 were a lovely touch as so many places expect small children to use a adult knife and fork! I admit it's our responsibility to provide for our children but it just saved bringing this equipment.
-the DVD's games provided all helped in occupying our two whilst packing up etc.
- the day parking permit which Jan gave us on our last day to save paying for parking in Scarborough.
-the helpful advice from Jan on the places we wanted to visit.
All in all a lovely stay in a lovely guest house. We shall return one day and I shall be telling everyone I know about St Michaels.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsBH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

3 day break with daughter.Brilliant,great welcome,very friendly.Room very clean,fresh good towels,soaps,shampoos,gels,biscuits for each guest and a small choclate each.Best breakfast you will have ( guaranteed,you need to try it).Daughter used Wi-Fi,perfect.Good location.Ed and Jan were perfect hosts,seems like we've known them forever,so nice.Will be back for sure

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymolloy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the St Michaels hotel in Scarborough and without a doubt it is the best B&B we have ever stayed in.
From arrival to departure Ed and Jan are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and with-in minutes you feel as if you were staying with good friends.
We had our grandson with us and the welcome they gave him was unbelievable, they loaned DVDs, books indeed anything that would help amuse a four year old.
The hotel is ideally positioned for Peasholme Park, beach, putting, crazy golf and numerous attractions can be reached via the open topped buses.
We had a family room, which was very, very clean and spacious and the courtesy trays were replenished every day, with special treats left for the grandson.
The breakfasts are out of this world with an unbelievable choice of cereals and fruits followed by the best cooked breakfast ever, all local produce cooked to perfection by Ed who does not do 'small portions', the breakfast lasts you all day and sometimes longer!
We will hopefully return to Scarborough later in the year and will definitely be staying at the St Michael’s.

Room Tip: We had a rear room which was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Can definately understand why this B and B is rated No 1 in Scarborough.We stayed there on Friday night Aug 17th 2012 and were very happy with the pretty room we were given.The cleanliness was second to none and we believe this to be the most important aspect of any establishment.The owners were really nice people and could not do enough to make our stay pleasant.Could not believe the size of the breakfast, even after reading the reviews before we went. There was cereal and fresh fruit to choose from and then the lovely full English breakfast. The quality of the food was outstanding with 3 lovely sausages,3 rashers of back bacon,2 hash browns,beans,egg,mushrooms,fresh tomatoes, tinned tomatoes and blackpudding.We thoroughly enjoyed it and I even managed to finish it.We would highly recommend St Michael 's
guest house and would not consider staying anywhere else when we return to Scarborough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thorntonpeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

stayed here with my wife for a short break was met by jan and ed who offered us a coffee and had a chat they were very welcoming to both of us ,the room was lovely and clean and tidy,breakfast was huge and excellent ,we went out for the day and came back and ed was there offered us a beer which was apprieciated and had a lovely chat about things,would not hesitate to return or recommend this excellent guest house welldone jan and ed

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbreweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A big thank you to Jan and Ed for a wonderful stay. We can only echo previous comments. Jan and Ed are fantastic hosts and made us all feel very welcome. The room we had was well-equipped and extremely comfortable. The location is perfect, just a short walk from the beach and park. The breakfast was enormous and of an excellent quality. Nothing was too much trouble and we would highly recommend a stay to anyone visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireandIanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,908 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
783 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $77 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing