We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay on the 8th -10th June 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our stay on the 8th -10th June 2012”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived to a very friendly welcome, and welcome cup of tea, Jan sorted out our parking straight away which was good. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a great en suite bathroom. The TV was easy to use, with the clear instructions provided, and the room had tea making facilities (with a check the following day whether we needed fresh milk). We had two good nights' sleep, despite the best efforts of the seagulls. The cooked breakfast had just about everything you could think of, and I had to admit defeat on the first morning there was so much on the plate. On the second morning, Jan and Ed had remembered that my wife likes skimmed milk and provided this which really impressed us. On both days there were morning papers if needed and, as above, the hosts were friendly and welcoming throughout the stay. We will definitely try and stay at this guest house when we next visit Scarborough. Thanks for a great 2 days..........Viv and Colin xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
226
407
55
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had an excellent 2 night stay, and can only back up previous reviews. The room was pefect for our stay and extremely clean, and the breakfast was excellent and with all our requirements being met. We would definately look to stay again when visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Excellent just like been at home they are very friendly people and they make you feel like your at home and there breakfast is amazing highly recomended and defentialy will be visiting again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalofthouse2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We recently stayed here and would recommend this guest house to everyone.
Not only was Ed & Jan very welcoming, but the breakfast they served each morning was the best we have had. They treated us like one of the family and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Excellent value for money! Large Hotels need to take a leaf out of St Michaels Book.


Ann & Glenn, Ted & Irene Beswick

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have just got home from our 3-night holiday at St Michael's, and can only reiterate the praise others have given. From the moment we arrived to when we drove away Jan and Ed did everything they could to make us feel welcome.
The rooms are excellent, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. A generous, delicious breakfast with choice of continental and cooked items, and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
This was our first holiday with our 12-month old boy, and Jan and Ed made our time extra special. Would recommend this guest house 100% to anyone - we will certainly be returning in the future.
Andy, Suzy & James.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

thanks again for the warm wecoming stay ed& jan i would advise everyone to stop here Ed & Jan are an amazing couple an carnt do enough for you to make you feel welcome . AND YOU WILL NEVER GET A BETTER BREAKFAST ANYWERE !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Right from my phone call to confirm our arrival time,nothing seemed like too much troublemaking sure we had the right directions and taking the strees out of our parking headache (thankyou). Jan and Ed run a ship shape guesthouse. Clean and tidy with well aired rooms,large bathroom/toilet and comfy beds (didnt want to get out the next morning ) nothing to do with the ale we consumed the night before.
Ed and Jan, maybe you should enter your full english breakfast for brekkie of the year (you certainly have our votes) accompanied by cereals,fruit etc,etc its a sure winner
Well !! all the above is meaningless if the people running the establishment are grumpy,standofish and unpolite. Thank God that Jan and Ed are the opposite what a lovely family. we hope the little lad is feeling better now and if we are in Scarborough again St Michael's is our first port of call. Thanks ....ps it was funny to see my golf clubs covered by a nice warm blanket !!!

Room Tip: no lift to rooms which are all upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlev539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Property: St Michael's Guest House
Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing