We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely Christmas”
Review of Humble Bee Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Humble Bee Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our second stay at Humble Bee Farm, this time we stayed in the Merry Dale cottage. The cottage was spotless with all the comforts you could need. The underfloor heating and open fire made the cottage very warm and homely. We stay over Christmas and to spend the week there made it all so much special. With lots of walks, Robin Hood Bay, Goathland and mountain biking in Dably Forest. Then to top each day off - a nice dip in the hot tub made it PERFECT! We will be back and thank you for having us. Parkes Family

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Park_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. Christmas is a great time too spend on the farm! Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 449 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here with friends at the end of July for a weekend break near the coast. Lovely location at bottom of a valley, friendly welcome and clean, pretty campsite. Pitch was flat, a little on the small side for us but we do have a large tent! Shower block a bit of a walk from bottom camping field and could do with more showers as had to queue. The various types of chicken, ducks and baby goats kept the kids happy whilst on site! The play park was good for under 7's. The owners provide a breakfast grill which was delicious in the mornings. A lovely site for a few days near to Cayton Bay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0EJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you've taken to write great comments. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Humble Bee Farm is a delicious little haven. We booked Swallows Nest Cottage for a week in September, looking for some peace and relaxation, and our expectations were more than fulfilled. The cottage itself is lovely, beautifully designed to be spacious yet cosy, comfortably luxurious with chic contemporary styling. Well equipped, with super comfy bed and heated stone floors, and a beautifully situated hot tub, it has exactly the comfortable, restful atmosphere we were after. The welcome from owner Julia is genuinely warm, along with the general homely atmosphere. The valley in which the farm is set is remote and pretty, with a feeling of being 'away from it all', lovely and relaxing, with entertaining visits from the free roaming inhabitants of the farm, baby pygmy goats, chickens and friendly little dogs. Highly recommended for a recharge of the batteries!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a holiday in the luxury cottages with private hot tubs, having found them by chance using Google. What luck. The cottages were amazing:- equipped to a very high standard with everything that we could possibly have needed, spotlessly clean and fresh. As we needed a fortnight and there wasn't one cottage available for both weeks, we chose to switch cottages on our middle weekend. John and Julia could not have made this easier for us, they were so helpful. The welcome we got on arrival was very friendly, and we were given all the help we needed to settle in and this continued for the whole two weeks with every care being given without being intrusive. We loved our holiday so much that we have already paid our deposit to return next September. Thank you Julia and John for making us so welcome and giving us a fantastic base from which to explore North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We have read your review and many thanks for taking the time to write it! We do hope you join again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Really lovely site. Extremely child friendly with a nice play area in a very peaceful, rural spot. We camped with a one and a three year old and they had a fantastic time. They loved the animals which included ducks, chickens, goats, sheep and cows and my little boy thought the tractors and combine harvesters were the most exciting thing ever! Collecting their own eggs was a real highlight. When we arrived the campsite was full and with so many children, demand for eggs, understandably outstripped supply at times but this was easily overcome by planting our own shop bought ones ! We didn't stay in the wigwams but they looked very nice. Their midweek deal of £60 for two people for two nights seemed very, very reasonable especially considering all there is on offer on site. The owners seem to work very hard to make the site appeal to families and groups with children and obviously put a lot of effort into arranging extra activities such as archery, nature walks, bush craft and fire making As well as bacon and sausage sandwiches some mornings and a visiting fish and chip van some evenings. Despite the campsite being full at times we never had a problem finding a free shower and the facilities were great. Some of the pitches were slightly sloping but this was easily overcome by pitching our tent accordingly. It wasn't a big issue at all. The pitches also seemed quite spacious compared to many we've had. There is a road/ track through the centre of the campsite with pitches either side but everyone was very aware that there were children running around and It never felt unsafe to allow them some freedom. as for the site rules, I didn't think there were that many at all and I was very appreciative of the ones there were as they helped to retain the peaceful, rural atmosphere that we were looking for when we booked. . There are plenty of campsites in the area providing a more lively atmosphere for those who want that kind of thing.
We all had a fantastic time and we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie11_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We do hope you can join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at Humble Bee Farm for 2 nights in our tent with EHU in the school holidays. The farm is lovely, my children aged 5 and 2 love the animals and my 5 year old was so excited when he looked in the hen house and a hen moved and there was a warm egg. The weather was amazing, it was so lovely to watch the children play on the park with the other children and then put them to bed for us to relax on the evening with the fire pit. We went into Filey and Bridlington and had great time at both. Going to come back next year but for longer. Great time had by all x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndsaya1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We do hope you can join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the weekend in our own tent on site. Lovely site, best showers I've ever used on a campsite and even though there aren't many we never had to wait and the site was full. Pitches are a bit small especially if you have a big tent. Lovely
Location and lots to do and visit nearby. The fire pit is a really good idea and we loved toasting our marshmallows over it. Nice and quiet on a night apart from the cockerel at 4am. The baby goats were lovely. Generally a really nice site with excellent clean facilities. Will go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughCastle, Owner at Humble Bee Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We love our work and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for writing a review for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,098 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 5 in Hunmanby
84 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pinewood Park
Pinewood Park
#5 of 38 in Scarborough
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humble Bee Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humble Bee Farm

Address: Flixton, Scarborough YO11 3UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Humble Bee Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humble Bee Farm is close to Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington, Whitby and the North York Moors National Park. Stay with us in this lovely part of Yorkshire. You can be as busy as bees exploring the area and return to our site to for relaxed, quality time with family or friends. We have cows, sheep and crops in our fields, ensuring a superb holiday accommodation with the great outdoors! Collect an egg for breakfast, meet the farmyard gang. Walkers, cyclists and surfers are welcome. Child and dog friendly! We are a Low Noise Policy site so you can relax with us, down on the farm. Our special events programme runs from February to October and includes Lambing and Calving weekends, Bat and Owl Watches, Halloween, Stargazing and much more. So go for the glamp here at Humble Bee – the best glamping experience in Yorkshire. The site includes luxury holiday cottages, Big chief wigwams, Deluxe Wigwams, Bell Tents, Nomadic Yurts and peaceful camping pitches. Humble Bee Farm is also a winner of a prestigious White Rose Award 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Humble Bee Farm Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing