We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cumberland Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
View Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
167
95
29
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
95
29
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelalfa coachleisureplex hotelsentertainment every nightturkey and tinselbingo callermeal timesthe lower ground floorself driveplenty of choiceconcert roomexcellent showercompliments to the chefbrilliant hotelwell run hoteleach eveningchristmas break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 299 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed here 7 nights with Alfa Travel.Very good standard for 2 star hotel.Had a single room in the basement but it was fine and had a super power shower. Mattress a little lumpy.Food excellent,staff very helpful.Did not attend the entertainment but could hear it very well from my room as I was below.Good position near esplanade and cliff lift down to beach.Also within easy walk of town centre and railway station.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthWalesMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from 4 nights at the Cumberland my wife as walking difficuties they gave us a room on the first floor with walk in shower the room was ideal she also brought with her a mobility scooter of which the hotel provived garageing and charging points the food was good and service ok the only thing we could say bad about the hotel was the entertainment we came here 2yrs ago and the entertainment was exactly the same and to be quite honest very boring other wise we had a great break Bill Frearson

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justbill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Me and my boyfriend went to this hotel for a bit of peace and somewhere to get away. The room was spacious but the walls are thin. If you want to hear everyones conversation then this is the place for you! We were in room 308, we could hear the lift ping everytime everyone came to the third floor and also we could hear the pipes from the toilets. Everytime someone flushed the toliet or washed their hands it sounded like a tram was going past with the sound of the pipes, eventually we did actually change rooms and I must say the staff were very helpful, if not we would have considered staying in another hotel. The entertainment was also very boring, old fashioned and repeatative. The only good thing was the staff, they were helpful. The food was nice but a bit peppery.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danni2k70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed in room 305... (reached via lift)....which was kept clean & spotless,good size double bed but could have done without the plastic in between the mattress and the sheets.... (no doubt there for older guests) .....the bathroom was wery clean with a very good shower and very hot water.Had no problem with noise through walls,the only problem was the double glazing was very poor resulting in noise from the busy main road and the seagulls, having modern new double glazed windows would solve this problem but would be very costley,the room in general was exellent.
Breakfast was at 8am every day inc sunday, which means you are up very early,remember this is a TWO star hotel and for that reason the food in my opinion is of a reasonable standard, it was always served hot and a reasonable choice on the menue.
The entertainment at night was poor (bingo & an organist) this needs to be inproved,or just go out to the many local bars which are only a few mins away,but remember this is a hilly resort.Overall though the hotel is a good base for a few days away and I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but remember it is TWO star and you get what you pay for, to be fair though it is more than two but not three star.If you come by car there could be a problem with parking.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We travelled with Alfa coaching holidays so the lack of parking was not a problem to us.The rooms were of a reasonable size and were cleaned daily.If there was a criticism here it was the the lack of privacy due to the very thin walls,we felt that we could have had a conversation with the people in the next room without too much of a problem! The food was served hot and was quite adequate with a reasonable choice.Our waiter was very polite and attentive with a sense of humour that was developing quickly as he had only been in this country for a few weeks. The entertainment was about the standard we might have expected on a holiday like this.Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFoursome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews