We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday”
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“brilliant holiday”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just returned back from holiday in Scarborough at the Cumberland Hotel.The Hotel was brill, the staff were magnificent, and we are definitely going to visit again! The food was excellent and very good varied choice.It was always piping hot and the Waitresses/Waiter couldnt do enough for us.Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
101
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I have just had a very pleasant stay at the Cumberland Hotel. I give it full marks for cleanliness, good food and excellent staff. The room was spacious with good views and the location of the hotel is perfect. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LankySeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just had five days at the Cumberland lovely hotel staff very friendly travelled to the hotel on Alfa coach Driver very pleasant I will definitely go again the food was excellent as always with plenty of choice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharlott106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely hotel situated in a perfect location close to town and seafront. The rooms, bed sheets and towels were all spotless. The service from the young girl at reception was above and beyond - nothing was too much trouble! The only downside was breakfast - once you'd ordered and eliminated things you didn't want - my partner ended up with one sausage, one egg, one strip of bacon and a tomato as he asked for it without blackpudding and beans. This made for a small unsatisfying portion. However the staff were very accommodating for my vegetarian requirements even thought I hadn't pre-ordered a veggie breakfast! Overal the hotel was mainly suited to accommodating the mature clientele - rooms needed updating!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Locket90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a week away with Alfa travel. Staying at the Cumberland hotel. I could not be more pleased with the choice of hotel. The staff were friendly, the food impeccable and the rooms were lovely and clean with spacious bathrooms. The location was good, with just a 10 minute walk to the town centre and the beach. The hotel had entertainment each night, and is geared towards to the older person.

There was a wide range of options for breakfast and the main meals were lovely. I would recommend this hotel for older couples and groups of friends. This hotel isn't really geared towards younger people or young families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmaLowe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went on one of Alfa Travel Sunday - Saturday tours me and my bride of 44 years to the Cumberland Hotel. We had not been to Scarborough for a few years this hotel is in a excellent position if you like to walk and enjoy scenery away from the town.The place was spotlessly clean and the staff were very pleasant to speak to they did not ignore you. The breakfasts were of a good standard and you had a very good choice for evening meal that come to your table hot and tasty. Our waitress Marina did a excellent job of looking after our many needs a bit of a dizzy blond at times but got there in the end. The entertainment was not to bad but we only caught the end of it at night because we went for walks after evening meal. The only downside was the price of the beer way over the top for poor quality beer or coloured water as I like to put it I prefer real ales. Must tell you about the room spotless of a fair size the shower was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel the power of it was great and you could vary the temp.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the bay much quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exminer1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked a room through laterooms.com desperate to find anywhere to stay in Scarborough on the Saturday of the August bank holiday weekend. The staff were great and super helpful. The room was dated but neat and tidy with plenty of space. However we were the youngest people there by a generation. This didn't bother us (I love the +65 set) but it is certainly set up to cater for the more mature guest. Bingo and 50-60s tunes were belted out in the entertainment area until about 10:30pm.

Breakfast was a very efficient affair with designated seating and table service. Dinner finished fairly early at 8pm but there are other options located near by. Parking is limited so you may have a bit of a walk with your gear. For me, the great staff moved the review rating from average to very good as well as the fact it was in a quiet part of Scarborough uphill from the main strip - a peaceful location.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bakery_treats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Property: Cumberland Hotel
Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing