We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as good as last year”
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as last year”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is the 3rd time we have been to the Cumberland on a coach trip for a 7 day holiday. The food is still very good, always served hot and well presented. However this time we were a little disappointed in the service of the meals. There did not seem to be as many waiting staff so we felt there was quite a delay between courses. The reception and room service were good and the hotel was clean and well presented. The only down side is noisy traffic during the night and some rooms have creaking floor boards.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor, then no one is above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    83
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
100
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed in the Cumberland for 1 night, double room was spacious and clean (lovely shower!) Reception very friendly the only downside was the breakfast, not the best and I had to send my sausage back as it wasnt cooked properly. Excellent position close to the centre although the traffic was noisy as our room was at the back. Would re-visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rlips007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Got from our trip yesterday, hotel was clean and tidy, food was excellent,staff were friendly, entertainment ok.Did not manage to get much sleep whilst there as the traffic noise, squeaky floor boards and door slamming at all hours kept us awake. The major downside to our trip was the 7hrs it took us to get there and the 9hrs coming back,whilst you can appreciate a few pick ups you dont expect to be travelling that long.It was our first time doing a coach trip and im afraid Alfa coaches has not given me a good first time experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HalifaxmissS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
In our literature we clearly advise that there are special travel arrangements for Scarborough tours. For these tours we allow clients to join the tour coach directly if they choose to join the tour from Leeds, Pudsey, Bradford or Huddersfield rather than these passengers travelling all the way west only to return the same way to get to Scarborough. I am sorry if you were disappointed by this arrangement however it is clearly explained in our brochure and on the itinerary issued with your travel documents.

On the ‘Joining your Alfa Holiday’ page in our brochure, we ask that clients consider the relative locations of their joining point, the interchange and the resort they wish to travel to prior to booking. We ask clients to do this because whilst it is possible to travel from all joining points to all resorts some combinations are not advisable and in all honesty we would not recommend clients to travel west from Halifax to the Interhcange only to return east to Scarborough. It would have been better for you to join en route in Huddersfield where you would have been picked up at lunch time, a coule of hours before arriving in Scarborough.

For future reference, we will not be operating en-route pick ups in Huddersfield, Pudsey, Bradford or Leeds in 2012. Instead we will be offering a £20 discount for clients joining at Hartshead Moor (on certain tours only). We believe this will prove a much better arrangement for clients from West Yorkshire wishing to go to Scarborough or the North East.

Finally, I am pleased that you found the food to be ‘excellent’ and were happy with the service afforded by the staff. The majority of our clients do travel with us time and time again and I hope that you may consider giving us another try in the future.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I went with Alfa coach tour, Its the best I have been on. They looked after you and couldn't do enough to make you comfortable. The Hotel was clean, the food was lovely and the staff were very helpful. I would go back again . Lana x

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

just returned from 7 nights at the cumberland hotel really nice hotel good food excellent single rooms spacious and spotlessly clean good area of scarborough stunning views a short walk away not for the physically infirm though so what are the bad points well alfa that is the problem took 7 hours to get there for an average 3/4 hour trip picking up all over the place and the meal times in the hotel were regimented 8 oclock breakfast with no leeway to strict by half its supposed to be a relaxing holiday a real shame as i would heartily recommend the hotel but would not travel with alfa again alfa traveller from stoke

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay at the Cumberland Hotel. I have noted your comment regarding the meal sittings and as is stated on your key card, if you wish to change to a later/earlier sitting simply speak to the Restaurant Supervisor who will be happy to oblige. With regard to the travel arrangements it would appear that you booked the holiday from our north west brochure in which we explain that there will be en route pick ups for passengers joining the tour in Yorkshire. Had you booked from the Midlands brochure, travel would have been direct from Tamworth and would have been a quicker journey as there are no en route pick ups between Tamworth and Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Had a weekend break at the Cumberland. Very impressed with the hotel. The room was pleasant with nice en suite facilities. There was tea and coffee and hair dryer in the room. The breakfast was very good. Only down side would be the nightly entertainment or rather the lack of it but it didnt put us off, will probably go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a very good hotel, and just had a great week there thanks.only thing i would say is they need to get new matresses for the beds.every thing else was good

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westieengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.0 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Property: Cumberland Hotel
Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing