We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely recommend will be coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“definitely recommend will be coming back”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked for 10, everyone got a seaview room as requested. Rooms very spacious,clean and tidy. Food spot on. Staff helpful ,polite and friendly. Beds comfy. Yes floors a bit creaky and decor a bit dated but this is a very old building and only adds to the character.

Room Tip: All rooms I booked were spot on, some bigger than others but all had views. Just ask for what you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    139
    87
    16
    25
See reviews for
54
160
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trimdon Grange, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a fabulous time at the esplanade with friends and family.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very helpful and polite.
Excellant views of the sea front from my room although the decor was a little dated but from what i understand the hotel is redcorating and it didnt distract from my stay.
Food was good with a wide range of choice at breakfast and dinner.
I picked up some leaflets to give to some family member who are thinking of coming to scarborough for a little break.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

what can we say but spot on and well done to the staff for getting every thing sorted out and to get us all book in for our 3rd year in Scarborough. nothing was to much trouble for them , if we needed some thing they where happy to help sort it out, nice clean and very friendly and helpful would recommend the hotel to others ,
will be going back next year .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Good food, served very quickly. Plenty of rooms to relax around the hotel and excellent views of Scarborough. Walking distance from Town center and sea front. Comfy beds and large room with en-suite. Booked again for next year. Thanks to Mary for all her hard work. Recommended to family and friends

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had a great weekend with many friends following the New Year, hotel was spacious and all the staff very friendly 100% effort in making sure we enjoyed our stay. Paint work a little dated but this does not distract from the great venue and location, Will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mak j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Ours was a pretty last minute booking, due to another hotel in the area closing down. A party of over 50 Royal British Legion Riders descended on The Esplanade, and we all received great treatment by the staff in every department. The management pulled out all the stops to meet our requirements (which were many).The hotel is undergoing refurbishment, which is looking good. OK, so some of the rooms are a bit dated, but the staff were all polite and helpful, and the food was decent and plentiful, and the place was clean.
Massive thanks to Mary, the assistant manager, without whom our event would not have taken place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

First time at this hotel, which kindly hosted a party for us. The Staff were for the most part very helpful, and on the whole good and friendly.
The rooms are clean and warm, and the hotel itself is very convenient for Scarborough town and North Yorks National park.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alandpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Esplanade Hotel Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing