We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunningdale Guest House
Ranked #16 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Sunningdale. The breakfasts were perfect and they make sure you get what you want and cooked the way you like it. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hosts are really friendly and take time to talk to their visitors and ensure that they make the most of their stay in Scarborough. Will most definitley make a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

just to say how much we are looking forward to staying again at Sunningdale this year. Judy and David are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay brilliant. the rooms are beautifully decorated and we always look forward to Judy's lovely cooked breakfast which is always piping hot, well presented with plenty of choice. You could not receive a better welcome anywhere. We can't wait to return!!!! keep up the good work Judy and David!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The B & B has a very impressive position opposite the park.
The two owners were very attentive, friendly hosts and made us feel most welcome during our short stay.
The house and bedroom were attractivly decorated and we were able to sleep well in the spotlessly clean comfortable bed.
The tradtional breakfast was excellent.Obvious care had been taken in its preparation and presention with due attention paid to our individual requests.
There are many of the local amenities within very short attractive walking distances.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Everything you could wish for, and more…

There is always an element of anticipation when booking somewhere new to stay, you read the reviews, some very good and a few not so good from someone with obviously a grudge to bear, you look at the pictures and you make your choice.

We chose to stay at the Sunningdale for the first time over the weekend of the 4th of April and it will most certainly not be the last time we visit them.

Our hosts were friendly, informative and very helpful, our room was a good size as well as spotlessly clean and breakfast was everything we could wish for in a traditional sea side guest house full English, with plenty of choice and presented to a high standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Myself and my partner have been coming to Sunningdale for the past 5years, You have a very warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble.The comment that I have just read I have never read so much rubbish in my life I just think that people like this need to get a life.We are booked in this year for our first stay this year and it wont be the last.Sunningdale is the very best bed and breakfast to stay in,in scarborough.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect, but I like the rooms on the front as you can watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just back from another fabulous stay at Sunningdale. As usual our hosts, Judy and David were at their excellent best. Our room, overlooking the park, was immaculate. Kathy loved the cushions on our bed as it reminded her of our own bed.
A good choice of breakfast and very well presented.


We will be going back to Sunningdale in June, can't wait !!

Room Tip: front rooms have good view overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

well where do we start!! probably the negative feedback............. was a little unsure after reading this as I can honestly say we are fussy, felt like I was part of four in a bed a program on tv where people/ guesthouse owners rip each other apart. I actually searched m y room for dust and dirt but could not even find any behind the toilet and sink, even tried on the bulbs and fittings but nope not a speckle, and for the hosts 2 very pleasant, warm and friendly people, whom could not do enough to make our stay in Scarborough(our 1st time) the best. we were provided with as much tea and coffee we could consume, biscuits included x where to begin with the breakfast as much cereal juice fruit tea and coffee you wanted followed by the grease free full English with fried eggs that were cooked to perfection soft yoke yet cooked both sides, well done David and Judy ooooh and Poppy and thanks for making us welcome definitely ***** love hugs and gratitude Kelly and Steve xxxx

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank manchesterlass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
2.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Guest House

Address: 105 Peasholm Drive, Scarborough YO12 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $74 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Guest House is perfectly situated on Scarborough's North Bay, opposite Peasholme Park, close to town centre, theatres, parks, gardens and galleries. Children of all ages are welcome at Sunningdale. David and Judy look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunningdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing