We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B and B doesn't get much better than this.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunningdale Guest House
Ranked #17 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“B and B doesn't get much better than this.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have been visiting Scarborough for years and used Sunningdale for the first time for a 3 day October break. Judy and Dave both met us at the door with a warm welcome and offer of drinks. Dave carried our bags upstairs. We had a room on the top floor which overlooked the park. The room was clean comfortable and quiet, even so, Judy told us that it is to be included in this years refurbs and it is really apparent that these lovely people are working hard to ensure that Sunningdale is one of the best, if not "the best" B and B in town. Well located just a few minutes walk from all of Scarboroughs main attractions with ample safe on street parking right outside. The dining room is spotless and the breakfast magnificent.
If you are thinking of booking....dont hesitate its great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
177
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This Guest House never ceases to astound, the refurbishment of the rooms is nearly completed, those done are absolutely beautifully comfortable and the welcome by Judy and David really is like coming back home; we stayed for three days and nights and were really lucky with sunshine (an indian summer?), and saw "Neighbourhood Watch", Ayckborne's new dark comedy - the icing on Tuesday night's cake and very well worth seeing!
Judy's breakfasts continue to excell and we will return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were here for just 2 nights and it's a lovely place to stay - home from home.
Both David and Judy (the owners) are very friendly and welcoming.
The room we stayed in is extremely clean and well decorated. The ensuite bathroom is huge and again very clean.
The breakfast is cooked to order and when you come down for it, which is best because the food is hot and fresh.
There's lots of information on display to help you decide what to do while staying here. Free WiFi access too, just ask for the codes! We'll be back as it's sad to leave. Thank you David and Judy for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just had a two night break and cannot say anything negative about this hotel. From the quality of the rooms to the friendlyness of the welcome every thing was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy2go49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A most enjoyable break in this very welcoming guest house - attentive without being intrusive. Situated conveniently about 15 minutes walk from the station, our ensuite room had a pleasant view over Peasholm Park. We would recommend Sunningdale for comfort, lovely breakfast cooked to order and location. N&P

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Spotlessly clean, super friendly, excelent for young families. Excelent value for money. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domvar1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our family have stayed with Judy and David on several occasions and their hospitality is second to none. After a long drive we are always warmly welcomed with a friendly chat and the offer of tea or coffee. David kindly offers to carry our luggage to our rooms if necessary while we get settled in. We can rest easy in the knowledge that all of the bedrooms are decorated to a very high standard, with every need catered for. Everyone is able to switch off in the very comfortable lounge which provides a quiet space to plan your days activities or just to chill out and relax. Breakfast in the morning is the highlight of our stay as it offers a wide choice, depending on your preference. Judy's 'full cooked breakfast'' is a must and even when busy, Judy and David always make time for some friendly banter with their guests. The location of the Sunningdale is excellent, overlooking Peasholm Park and just a short walk to the North Bay sea front. We must also mention Poppy, their beautiful Irish red setter. Some guests may not even be aware of her but if you love animals, you should ask to meet her as her cuddles are great. We all look forward to our next stay at the Sunningdale with Judy and David as it really feels more like staying with friends. If you are looking for excellent, friendly and comfortable accommodation in Scarborough, you should look no further than the Sunningdale Guest House.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulously decorated and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Guest House

Property: Sunningdale Guest House
Address: 105 Peasholm Drive, Scarborough YO12 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Guest House is perfectly situated on Scarborough's North Bay, opposite Peasholme Park, close to town centre, theatres, parks, gardens and galleries. Children of all ages are welcome at Sunningdale. David and Judy look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunningdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing