We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunningdale Guest House
Ranked #15 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Another friendly welcome by hosts Judy and David on our third visit.
Everything first class, bedrooms spotless clean, breakfasts very
good. All round a lovely guest house will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We keep going back to Sunningdale and we find Judy and David very welcoming, the food is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable. We are back again in August.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJHDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at the Sunningdale Guest House in Mid July with our 1 year daughter and could not have chosen a better place to stay. The owners where so helpful and could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable. The room was very spaceous for a BnB with a large bathroom which was ideal when staying with a young child. All the rooms in the BnB were absolutely spotless and in immaculate condition.
The breakfast was excellent with a great selection to chose from including full english, continental and vegi. We unfortunently had to leave early but this would definately be our first choice of accommadation when we return to Scarborough

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akirice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Judy and David are very welcoming, friendly hosts.

The rooms are spotless and very well furnished with wonderful comfortable beds and high quality bed linen.

The breakfasts are delicious ( full english bears no trace of grease).

Overall the personal touch and the overall quality make the Sunningdale far superior to hotels in the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinhood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I have just spent 3 days at Sunningdale, with my 6 year old niece. Having found excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, it was really the main reason for picking this guest house. David welcomed us like old friends and offered us drinks and took our suitcase up to our room. The room was beautiful - tastfully decorated and perfectly clean and bright. The bed linen was crisp white cotton and the bed was divine. The en suite looked new and was immaculate. We met Judy in the morning when we went down for what I can only describe as a 'picture perfect' breakfast. It was cooked to perfection and was a generous portion. Judy is so warm and chatty and both her and David take the time to remember every residents name and make them feel special. They made such a fuss of my niece, who told me we were being 'spolied'. We were only booked for 2 nights, but ended up staying 3 - my niece didn't ever want to go home!!! It is in a great location, only a short walk to the beach and open top buses. Being across from the fabulous Peasholm Park is perfect, especially if you have children. So in summary I would have to say that this couple have definitely found their vocation in life and I don't think they can be beat on service, quality, cleanliness or value for money. 4 stars are just not enough! Thank you so much, we will be back.

Room Tip: Just tell them your requirements and they will make sure you have a room to match
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missymckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

after reading reviews on guest houses in scarborough we decided on thr sunningdale
judy and david are a lovely couple who cant do enough for you
the rooms are bright and clean and the bed was one of the most comforable we have ever slept in
the breakfasts were wonderful kept you going for hours
it was our first wedding anniversary while we were there and judy presented us with a bottle of wine to celebrate we were very touched
we are hoping to return in the near future

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsk131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Such a great guest house, couldnt have had a warmer welcome, offered a drink as soon as we walked in and our bags taken up to our room

David and judy even accomodated for our 1 year old with a travel cot high chair and making her breakfast.

We loved our stay that much we are going back for longer... Comfy well furnished rooms and ensuit... Plenty of choice at breakfast... Close to everything you want and need

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
973 reviews
1.2 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#33 of 183 in Scarborough
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
822 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Guest House

Address: 105 Peasholm Drive, Scarborough YO12 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $57 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Guest House is perfectly situated on Scarborough's North Bay, opposite Peasholme Park, close to town centre, theatres, parks, gardens and galleries. Children of all ages are welcome at Sunningdale. David and Judy look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunningdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing